Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sunrise2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    56

    Smile Questions about RAM and SSD

    Hello, about in one week I will receive one of the G75VW-T1054V model. I will plan to upgrade RAM to 16GB and one of the SSD.

    So, I want to ask you if I will install 8GB RAM (corsair vengeance) in ONE slot (free 2 slots available in this model), system will recognised it? Or better install 8GB RAM per 2 slots (2x4GB corsair vengeance)???

    Another question: which SSD (240GB) is better? I will plan to install Intel 520 (or wait 525 series), or one of corsair GT models?
    I know that the OCZ SSD models have problems with G75VW models.

    Thanks so much for answers.

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Depending on what the 525 offers over the 520 and even the GT...i'd probably go for the 525, depending on how long until the release.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    Intel or Samsung SSDs right now. I am a Samsung fan.

    RAM with 1600Mhz and CL11 works. I saw that Corsair with CL9 might make the system downclock to 1333Mhz.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array mrwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    657

    Yea try and get the CL11's but when i tried, i could not find any corsair vengance cl11's so i just went and got the cl9.. Apparently the difference between 1600mhz and 1333mhz is by like 1 or 2% so its not a big deal and either way cl9 is like 1 or 2% faster than cl11 so its kinda like the same..

    Also i got the 256 OCZ vertex 4 SSD and have had no problems so far on my G75


  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sunrise2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by c_man View Post
    Intel or Samsung SSDs right now. I am a Samsung fan.

    RAM with 1600Mhz and CL11 works. I saw that Corsair with CL9 might make the system downclock to 1333Mhz.
    CMSX8GX3M1A1600 model of corsair RAM have CL 10. So, with CL10 what speed will be? 1600 or 1333 Mhz?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    From what users said so far, nothing under CL11 keeps clocks.

    mrwolf, did you do any tests with 1600 CL11 versus 1333 CL9? That would be some interesting info.

    I did 1600 CL11 versus CL9. In some test there is a difference, but in others there is none. I guess 1600 vs. 1333 should be about the same.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    615

    Quote Originally Posted by c_man View Post
    I guess 1600 vs. 1333 should be about the same.
    It really makes little sense to mis match RAM when adding additional RAM. Not hard to find compatible CL 11 RAM.

    Please do not recommend things like this here.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    I think you are replying to mrwolf here, since I did not.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array mrwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    657

    John, you are correct, there is no sense in mismatching cl9 and cl11.. However i believe you misread our posts, as i did not reccomend anything.. Im simply showing my findings and giving extensive information. There is nothing wrong with that..

    And also I didnt say its not possible to get cl9 but its just that most gaming stores do not stock cl11 corair vengance models as the cl9's are more popular.

    @C_man: How do i go about to test my ram..? What programs should i use for the most accurate results..? (I prefer to just install one program rather than several)


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    Well, if we are to compare, AIDA64 2.50.2000

    Are there CL11 Vengeance? I know what you mean, in my country it's very hard to get 1600 CL11, any brand.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •