Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: G75VW - Raid?

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    43

    G75VW - Raid?

    Hi.

    I am kind of "noob" when it comes to setting up Raid.
    In fact i have never done it before.
    And have a question.
    Is it possible to set a raid config on a g75vw?
    exampel: 2*OCZ SSD Agility 4 Series 2.5" 256GB
    Asus G75VW-T1031V
    Intel Core i7-3610QM
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 670M
    8 GB 1600mhz
    HDD#1 -> SSD OCZ Agility3 240gb
    HDD#2 -> 750gb HDD 7200rpm
    HDD#3 -> 320gb WD 5200rpm (external drive mounted on back of screen with ducktape! NOT )

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array ushhh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    yes its possible i have two vertex 4 256gb in raid 0 all u have to do is go into the bios and select raid and then save settings and when it restarts press ctrl i and setup your raid

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array mrwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    657

    Would raid work with a 256GB SSD and 1TB HDD...?

    Also what extra benefits would you get from RAID0 that you would not with AHCI ?
    Last edited by mrwolf; 08-24-2012 at 11:19 AM.


  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    43

    i have read you need identical discs? Isen`t this right?
    Asus G75VW-T1031V
    Intel Core i7-3610QM
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 670M
    8 GB 1600mhz
    HDD#1 -> SSD OCZ Agility3 240gb
    HDD#2 -> 750gb HDD 7200rpm
    HDD#3 -> 320gb WD 5200rpm (external drive mounted on back of screen with ducktape! NOT )

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array ushhh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    they can be different brands but they have to be the same capacity

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by mrwolf View Post
    Would raid work with a 256GB SSD and 1TB HDD...?

    Also what extra benefits would you get from RAID0 that you would not with AHCI ?
    you would need to have two "256GB SSD's" to run in Raid.
    I'm planning to get a second Intel 520 series 180GB drive, and run in raid.

    I hear good reports on this, people getting "super fast" bench.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •