Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array kawasakizx10rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    cmos test failed & bios rom utility how to install it

    hi i got two beeps on start up this morning iv restarted my pc again and it was just 1 beep now but the asus pc test failed the cmos pattern test . and i thought i will update the bios but i have 1404 and i need to install the bios tool to convert it it says. iv down loaded it but it just says open file with ? i dont no what program to chose. can any one help me please im not to bothered about the cmos failing as iv seen many people saying its just a random glitch. but i DO want to update the bios but this tool it stoping me how do i install the bios converter

    mb : Asus rampage iv extreme ROG
    cpu : INTEL i7 3930k OC @ 4.7 Ghz / rog gamer mode
    ram : G skill Ripjaw 16Gb @ 1600mhz 4 sticks out of 8 slots
    gpu 1 : AMD Gigabyte 6970 2GB 900MHz crossfired
    gpu 2 : AMD R6970 msi 2GB 940MHz crossfired
    sc : Asus Xonar Xense
    hdd 1 : SSD Corsair force series 3 120GB
    hdd 2 : Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 500GB
    hs : Corsair h100
    psu : Novatech gold series 1000watt
    temp/fan display : NZXT sentry LX
    case : Thermatake chaser mk-1
    Last edited by kawasakizx10rr; 08-24-2012 at 03:13 PM.
    Rampage iv Extreme bios 1404 + EK acetal nickel full block ~ i7 3930k @ 46x + Koolance cpu-380i nickel block ~ G skill ripjaw Z 32Gb 1600 ~ AMD R9 290x + EK acetal nickel full block ~ Corsair neutron gtx 240 ~ Corsair force 3 serise 120 ~ Seagate baracoda 500 ~ Asus Xonar Xense ~ Novatech 1000w gold series ~ Koolance HX-CU1020V radiator ~ EK DCP 4.0 Pump ~ EK acetal spin reservoir ~ Thermaltake chaser mk-1 ~ Windows 7 pro ~ Corsair K95 RGB www.3dmark.com/sd/2198995

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array kawasakizx10rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    OK CHEERS MATE I THINK I GOT THE HANG OF IT SO I INSTALL IT IT THE BIOS but i can still use windows 7 64 bit after the conversion. what was the last thing he clicked on at 1:50 in that video was it the new bios
    Last edited by kawasakizx10rr; 08-24-2012 at 03:35 PM.
    Rampage iv Extreme bios 1404 + EK acetal nickel full block ~ i7 3930k @ 46x + Koolance cpu-380i nickel block ~ G skill ripjaw Z 32Gb 1600 ~ AMD R9 290x + EK acetal nickel full block ~ Corsair neutron gtx 240 ~ Corsair force 3 serise 120 ~ Seagate baracoda 500 ~ Asus Xonar Xense ~ Novatech 1000w gold series ~ Koolance HX-CU1020V radiator ~ EK DCP 4.0 Pump ~ EK acetal spin reservoir ~ Thermaltake chaser mk-1 ~ Windows 7 pro ~ Corsair K95 RGB www.3dmark.com/sd/2198995

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    Quote Originally Posted by kawasakizx10rr View Post
    OK CHEERS MATE I THINK I GOT THE HANG OF IT SO I INSTALL IT IT THE BIOS but i can still use windows 7 64 bit after the conversion. what was the last thing he clicked on at 1:50 in that video was it the new bios
    After the conversion you need to upfate again with . CAP file.
    Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array kawasakizx10rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Quote Originally Posted by lenehan View Post
    After the conversion you need to upfate again with . CAP file.
    sorry i dont understand what you mean in this quote not the spelling error but the hole quote im a noob lol. and also after my 2 beeps from windows and the cmos pattern test fail my pc froze today so i restarted it and it say boot device not found iv seen this problem on my other rog pc so i fixed it just but loading on safe defult bios settings then going back to rog gamer mode. but yer im getting worried about my pc now.
    Rampage iv Extreme bios 1404 + EK acetal nickel full block ~ i7 3930k @ 46x + Koolance cpu-380i nickel block ~ G skill ripjaw Z 32Gb 1600 ~ AMD R9 290x + EK acetal nickel full block ~ Corsair neutron gtx 240 ~ Corsair force 3 serise 120 ~ Seagate baracoda 500 ~ Asus Xonar Xense ~ Novatech 1000w gold series ~ Koolance HX-CU1020V radiator ~ EK DCP 4.0 Pump ~ EK acetal spin reservoir ~ Thermaltake chaser mk-1 ~ Windows 7 pro ~ Corsair K95 RGB www.3dmark.com/sd/2198995

  6. #6
    I left ASUS, please contact cl-scott Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    155

    the last thing he clicked on at 1:50 was the 2105.CAP so that's the newly converted CAP file. Were you able to get your BIOS updated with a CAP file?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array kawasakizx10rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    not yet im just about to try

    well im going to try it today. so iv downloaded the new,est bios and i have downloaded the cap converter so it run the converter first then i click on the new bios file and install it ? does it convert the bios that is not installed ??
    Rampage iv Extreme bios 1404 + EK acetal nickel full block ~ i7 3930k @ 46x + Koolance cpu-380i nickel block ~ G skill ripjaw Z 32Gb 1600 ~ AMD R9 290x + EK acetal nickel full block ~ Corsair neutron gtx 240 ~ Corsair force 3 serise 120 ~ Seagate baracoda 500 ~ Asus Xonar Xense ~ Novatech 1000w gold series ~ Koolance HX-CU1020V radiator ~ EK DCP 4.0 Pump ~ EK acetal spin reservoir ~ Thermaltake chaser mk-1 ~ Windows 7 pro ~ Corsair K95 RGB www.3dmark.com/sd/2198995

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array kawasakizx10rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    ok so iv just been i the bios and the flash tool but mine does not look as neat as the video i have 4 drives in it and loads of folders to choose from iv made a new folder in disk E and unzipped the bios and cap converter. so now i should be able to fine it this time. again i getting worried about my pc this morning it just kept restarting every 2 seconds on start up about 6 times then i turned of the power and turned it back on and it turned on by it self and kept restarting so i held the CMOS clear button and its ok now but this is getting worrying.
    Last edited by kawasakizx10rr; 08-25-2012 at 03:45 PM.
    Rampage iv Extreme bios 1404 + EK acetal nickel full block ~ i7 3930k @ 46x + Koolance cpu-380i nickel block ~ G skill ripjaw Z 32Gb 1600 ~ AMD R9 290x + EK acetal nickel full block ~ Corsair neutron gtx 240 ~ Corsair force 3 serise 120 ~ Seagate baracoda 500 ~ Asus Xonar Xense ~ Novatech 1000w gold series ~ Koolance HX-CU1020V radiator ~ EK DCP 4.0 Pump ~ EK acetal spin reservoir ~ Thermaltake chaser mk-1 ~ Windows 7 pro ~ Corsair K95 RGB www.3dmark.com/sd/2198995

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array kawasakizx10rr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    IT SAYS THIS IS NOT A EFI bios
    Rampage iv Extreme bios 1404 + EK acetal nickel full block ~ i7 3930k @ 46x + Koolance cpu-380i nickel block ~ G skill ripjaw Z 32Gb 1600 ~ AMD R9 290x + EK acetal nickel full block ~ Corsair neutron gtx 240 ~ Corsair force 3 serise 120 ~ Seagate baracoda 500 ~ Asus Xonar Xense ~ Novatech 1000w gold series ~ Koolance HX-CU1020V radiator ~ EK DCP 4.0 Pump ~ EK acetal spin reservoir ~ Thermaltake chaser mk-1 ~ Windows 7 pro ~ Corsair K95 RGB www.3dmark.com/sd/2198995

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    The best way to use thumdrive. Please refer http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=
    Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •