Page 1 of 73 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 729
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    AMD Response to Trifire Eyefinity issue on the Rampage IV

    To start this off I have been having issues with my trifire triple monitor setup. Anytime I enable eyefinty running crossfire/trifire I will eventually get image frozen on screen and sometimes a sound loop while gaming. Amd states it is because I am running the 3rd card @ 8x speeds. I have removed one of the cards to test what they are saying and I get the same results running 2 cards crossfire at gen 2 or gen 3. So AMD is basically blaming this on the rampage IV. I would like to get some input on the issue from asus.

    Anyways here is the response I got from AMD:

    Response and Service Request History:

    Regarding I get last image frozen on the screen with sometimes a looping sound/buzzing. System is unresponsive and requires powering off the PC. No blue screen and only error I get are on a reboot about power down the system in event viewer.
    Single card + Eyefinity is fine. Crossfire + Eyefinity in 2x or 3x crossfire results in a freeze. Crossfire 2x,3x on a single monitor is fine.
    I have tested each card individually all run single screen and eyefinity. MB: Asus Rampage 4 Extreme
    *
    Here is what the motherboard manufacturer states about the PCI-e slots.
    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Int...specifications
    *
    Expansion Slots
    ***** 4 x PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16 (x16; x16/x16; x16/x8/x16 and x16/x8/x8/x8, red) *1
    ***** 1 x PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16 (x8 mode, gray) *1
    ***** 1 x PCIe 2.0 x1
    *
    Note
    ******* *1-1 This motherboard is ready to support PCIe 3.0 SPEC. Functions will be available when using PCIe 3.0-compliant devices. Please refer to www.asus.com for updated details.
    *1-2 For PCIe 3.0 x16 (X8 mode), PCIEx8_2B(Grey) shares bandwidth with PCIEx8_2A(Red).
    *
    It's difficult to get performance /functions with the above motherboard, so unfortunately we cannot offer a complete fix at this time. For both crossfire and the additional card, AMD offers very limited support since it is such a unique situation with special conditions, we have to make some significant adjustments and accommodations to offer any sort of support.
    *
    To use crossfire with “best” performance both PCI-Express slots need to be PCI-E x16 version 2.0 or better.
    In the case when two cards are installed the system works with two cards at PCI-E x16 and x8 (means loss of performance, etc)
    *
    Then another card is added in a PCI-E x8 slot, which now brings the system to work at a X8 level and other issues arise
    This is not a supported option as the features, performance, functions are all curtailed.
    *
    The slots here are mechanically PCI-Express x16, but functionally they are X16 and x8 slots.
    *
    To get “good performance” with a crossfire setup, we recommend using a motherboard with all PCI-e x16 slots ver 2.0 or higher slots, where all slots work or function at PCI-E X16 at every level.
    Thank you.
    *

    We understand sometimes circumstances might prevent you from responding with the information within a few days.* If we do not hear back from you, the service request will be permanently closed after 10 days.* If more time is needed, please reply before the 10 days expire, to ensure this service request remains open.
    In order to update this service request, please respond, leaving the service request reference intact.

    Best regards,

    AMD Global Customer Care

    ____________________
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    Thanks mate for sharing.
    Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    LOL sounds like the some of ex ASUS support staff found jobs with AMD. Use plenty words but say nothing.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    Lol yeah my response was:

    Also this is the most uninformative response I have gotten in a long time.*Never in your response did you state if you were able to replicate the issue. Did you even test this setup or did you just point me to some motherboard spec that I am well aware of.**I am calling bull**** on this!*

    Can you answer this:
    Why does the cards still freeze with using crossfire with only 2 cards. With 2 cards the system is running both slots at 16x and I have tested this by setting enabling gen2 in the bios settings. Nothing you stated makes any sense to the issue I am having. If the case is the slots on the Rampage IV extreme why does it not do this using a single monitor while running crossfire
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array stock12to32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    87

    I have a friend with this problem and he had to disable sound drivers for the graphics card. He had to device manager and go to sound and disable the sound devices for the graphics leaving your normal sound device enabled. This may not help but worth a shot and very easy to check.
    3dMark11: P13350
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6105510

    System:
    ASUS Crosshair V Formila BIOS 1703
    AMD FX 8350 @ 25x 200 = 5Ghz (water cooled)
    16Gb Patriot Vipper Xtreme DDR3 2133Mhz
    x3 ATI HD6970 trifire @ 920Mhz GPU and 1400Mhz Memory
    x2 128Gb Samsung 830 Series SSD RAID-0
    128Gb OCZ Agility 3 SSD
    x2 1Tb 7200RPM Hardrives RAID-0
    LEPA 1600W PSU
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow
    x3 27" ASUS LED LCD (eyfinity)
    LG Blue-Ray
    Logitech G110 Keyboard
    Logitech G500 Mouse
    Windows 8 64 bit

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    One thing I have noticed on some other boards compared to the RIVE. On the MSI Big Bang 2 the spec sheets states for the PCIE slots:

    16x,16x,8x for gen3
    16x,16x,16x gen2

    RIVE:
    In Gen2 does it do 16x x3 ?

    I am confused why/how they are doing that on the MSI Bang 2.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    Quote Originally Posted by stock12to32 View Post
    I have a friend with this problem and he had to disable sound drivers for the graphics card. He had to device manager and go to sound and disable the sound devices for the graphics leaving your normal sound device enabled. This may not help but worth a shot and very easy to check.
    I have done that already. I did that for another reason though. My reason was if you have the sound enabled and click on playback devices in the sound task bar it is delayed for minutes. Disabling hdmi audio in device manager fixes that.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    73

    It kind of looks like they just threw up some random disjointed facts regarding RIVE, Crossfire/SLI, and PCIE and prayed you would go away.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    I have flashes all 3 cards with a asus 7970 test bios. The 2d/3d clocks are both 925 for this bios. What is odd is the crashing and freezing has stoped. Could there be a issue with the AMD 7xxx cards powercore and the asus boards? There are people on guru3d forums and other forums reporting issue running this combination with 7xxx series cards. But there seems to be some kind of compatibility issue of some kind.

    Maybe Raja or Shamio could shed some light on the issue. Could there be some kind of tuning issue with the boards and these cards? I seen bios notes for a about tuning for the 7xxx series cards awile back. I forget which bios added tunig for the 7xxx cards.

    I may switch back to factory bios on gpu's and revert bios to original bios on my RIVE and retest with bios prior to 7xxx tuning. But something is not playing nice with these cards.
    Last edited by HK-47; 08-30-2012 at 01:32 PM.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    If you are getting issues in PCIe gen 2 mode, then there could be a stability issue with memory or the CPU. Gen 3 capability varies from CPU to CPU, the desktop processors from Intel aren't guaranteed to run gen 3. We can't tune for each CPU, it's impossible.

Page 1 of 73 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •