Page 2 of 73 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 52 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 729
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    Thanks,

    I had a question about Skew adjustments.

    In the OC Bios guide this is stated:

    BCLK Skew: The sweet spot for BCLK Skew on this CPU is -2 bundled with -20 on PCIE CLK Skew. A good match in these 2 skews can help with BCLK/DRAM/Overall OC stability and help reduce Vcore requirements at a given operating frequency.

    Then in a post I read this from Shamio:

    skew doers not affect your pcie frequency at all
    but adjusting bclk does
    only at 100, 125, 167 bclk does your pcie/dmi remain at 100

    if at 95, pcie/dmi = 95
    if at 105, pcie/dmi = 105

    if at 120, pcie/dmi = 120/125 x 100 = 96
    if at 130, pcie/dmi = 130/125 x 100 = 104

    if at 160, pcie/dmi = 160/167 x 100 = 95.8
    if at 170, pcie/dmi = 170/167 x 100 = 101.7



    I am having a hard time understanding what adjustments need to be made to stabilize PCI-E, CPU. I have run Memtest and I got 0 errors reported. I know Memtest just means I am stable for that test.
    Could you point me in a direction or what I need to adjust. I can run Aida64 and heaven fine windowed mode overnight but that is not using crossfire.

    The issue for me only seems to be when I am using eyefinty and large amounts of data is on the PCI-E running crossfire and eyefinty. Single card eyefinty is fine. I have tested eyefinty on each card and tested crossfire with all cards in single, crossfire and trifire on a single screen.

    As I understand it running resolution under 2560 x 1600 In crossfire most of the data being exchanged between cards is handled by the crossfire bridge. At higher resolutions above 2560x1600 (eyefinity) the bridges reach data bandwidth limit and AMD uses a work and uses the PCI-E bus because of th bandwidth limitations of the crossfire bridges.

    Some having issues with the amd 7xxx cards and eyefininty on the rampage have switched to SLI nvida and have no issues. From what I understand is nvida handles SLI and surround view a lite different on how they utilize the SLI bridges.

    Anyways thanks for taking a look and any help would be great!
    Last edited by HK-47; 08-30-2012 at 03:19 PM.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  2. #12
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Have you debugged everything else before you've arrived at the conclusion that the instability is strictly PCIe related?

    1) Are you running Gen 3 mode or Gen 2?

    2) Don't rule out memory related instability in this mix.

    3) Is the system overclocked in any way at all (memory at DDR3-2133 is overclocked as anything past DDR3-1600 is considered overclocked by Intel).

    Adjusting PCIe freqeuncy is never advised if the CPU is already showing signs of instability at stock settings.

    -Raja

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Hey HK-47, you are probably defcoms.

    I just want to share my experience here too, I have been looking around for a fix but didn't find any.
    I have the same setup as HK-47

    Intel 3930k
    Dominator GT 2133 Mhz
    Quadfire 7970

    I have tested everything just like him, I MEAN EVERYTHING

    Quadfire + Single screen (perfect and overkill )
    Single cards + eyefinity (perfect)
    Crossfire (2x) + eyefinity (perfect)

    But Quad or Trifire + eyefinity = fail.

    System is stable.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    I have tried the following.

    gen2 and gen3
    load default setting.

    And system will crash when using eyefinity and crossfire, trifire randomly. Using a single card crossfire disabled eyefinity is fine. I have tested each card individually running eyefinity. And I am able to run crossfire and trifire fine on a single monitor. This is running Gen2 or Gen3 overclocked or using defaults for motherboard.

    Last night I switched my memory to mode2 and set BLCK - 2 and PCIE CLK to -20 per your Jedi UEFI Overclocking Guide. I had these set to auto prior.
    Some games freeze faster then others sniper elite V2 seems to give me the most problems.
    Testing wise to replicate freezing I am running Aida64 stress test and heaven benchmark at my eyefinty resolution full screen max settings with 2xAA. After changing these setting I am able to run this test for hrs now. After changing those setting I did receive a bsod it was a 0x101 code if I remember correct. I was running
    4.6ghz in offset +.05v
    CPU Load line at regular

    This was giving me 1.36-1.37v underload running the test before bsod.
    After the bsod I lowered multi to 45 and retested and test run for around 2 hrs. I tested sniper elite v2 and BF3 and no crashes so far. But in these games crashes happen random times but normally within 30 minutes on sniper v2.

    So with that said I have no real idea what PCIE CLK skew does I have tried to read up on it and each person explains it diffenrent. And I am just as confused as prior to reading. So you may be onto something with the unstable system. My main concern is why the system unstable at default settings running eyefinty and crossfire. Could you explain some on the settings I changed.

    I have not tested enough to determin if the system is stable yet. Once I get t stable I would like to narrow down what setting needs to be changed to run at default settings and what makes system unstable in eyefinity crossfire.

    I can give you more details if you need when I get home from work.

    Thanks again
    Last edited by HK-47; 08-31-2012 at 04:40 PM.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  5. #15
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    I am going to tell you what I would do if this were my system:


    1) While you have any kind of issue keep the system at defaults - no overclocks at all.

    Now I'll suggest what I would change from defaults to start narrowing this down.

    i) Set PCIe to Gen 2 for all active slots

    ii) Remove two memory modules, load XMP in UEFI BUT set DRAM frequency manually to DDR3-1333

    iii) Bump CPU voltage up a little over stock.




    Leave all else as is, and see what kind of impact this has on gaming.


    Stage 2 - you can discard whatever you have tried already (but keep all stage one settings while moving on)

    i) Keep side panel removed from case and repeat gaming tests note any change in failure

    ii) If using display port cables check they are compliant. Many cheap non-complaint cables that leak DC, this will screw with the board "BIG TIME".

    PCIe clk skew stuff should not even be needed at stock. If the system at stock settings is not stable with default on that setting, something deeper is amiss and this setting is unlikely to bring unconditional stability to rectify that problem. So don't think about it too deeply, there's no need to understand what the setting does to be honest (you need to understand more than basic electronics to get your head around it anyway).

    -Raja

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    I am using cheap startech cables they where like 8 bucks from amazon. I found a thread where you guys found one guy had voltage back feeding on pin 20 on his cables. I have ordered some monster mini-DP to DP cables. I called monster tech support to see if they had a pin out diagram available and the guy was not much help. All he told me is they use display port specs. So I do have some other cables that will be here today. I did connect check 3.3v on the MB connector to ground on the connector with my fluke 787 and I was reading 0.28v. I was unsure the of the testing procedure you guys used to verify if indeed I am leaking voltage back. The picture were not close enough to see the acutual test points used. All I could see is the red lead of your meter i couldn't see the black. I did tear apart a cable I hade order that was to short to use for he right monitor after reading that and it does indeed have a wire on pin 20. Could you explain testing procedure for checking for back feeding of voltage on monitor.


    Side monitors are asus ve278q
    Center is asus vk278q

    I will do the procedure you posted above.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  7. #17
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    If there is any voltage present on the 3.3V power plane with the PSU unplugged (monitors connected to GPUs in the board), then they are leaking DC. Loads of ways you can test to see if power is coming back. Definitely get some verified cables.Not sure on the Monster ones, I would hope they are compliant but who knows unless they tell you for sure (if you are unable to test yourself).


    -Raja

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Hi Raja

    Its not the dongle.

    I have been using the same exact setup but with 3 x 6970.

    When I bought the Quad reference 7970, I changed my PSU to a 1600W (Lepa G 1600 PSU) but nothing else has changed. Same RIVE and same 3930k.

    I was using the same monitors also with the same dongles.
    The dongles are from the AMD certified dongle list

    http://support.amd.com/us/eyefinity/...y-dongles.aspx

    They are from accell: part number: B087B-003J

    Home Page of Accell B087B-003J http://www.accellcables.com/products...P/mdp_dvid.htm

    I am exactly in the same situation as HK-47. My rig was stable with eyefinity + trifire 6970. But its not since I have the 7970s.
    during game it freezes (lockup) and have an annoying sound loop. Hard reset (reboot) is needed to shut off the computer.

    The PSU has been tested and verified by a JohnnyGuru reviewer.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    When my system is off my monitors go into low power mode. I am wondering if they are not leaking power in this mode and only when they active. The guy in the post having issue with voltage back feeding could not POST with his cables connected. I will change out the cables today and run as you have suggested.

    One last thing on the cables. Pin 20 should not be connected correct?
    I want to ohm my new cables and my old cables to verify.
    To check I was going to go ohm pin 20 on Mini-DP side to 20 on DP side.

    And hello KaRLiToS yes it is Defoms. Fancy meeting you here.....
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  10. #20
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    If he has his cables plugged DIRECTLY into his monitors and they are non-compliant they will leak DC back into the GPUs.

Page 2 of 73 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 52 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •