Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array 1stcowgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Help updating BIOS of Z97A

    hi,
    can anyone please help me with updating the bios?
    is there a safe and easy way to update bios?
    can someone write down the easiest way to update?
    maybe write the exact steps i need to do in order to update bios?
    any help would be apriciated.
    thank you
    ºi7-4790k, ºZ97-A, º4x4GB Ripjaws X 1600mhz, ºASUS GTX 780Ti OC [DC2OC] ºCorsair GS700, ºCM 690 IIIº LG E2241T ºWin 7 Ulti' SP1 x64

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,678

    Hi 1stcowgirl. Only update Bios for a good reason ie: more functionality or corrupted bios.

    Best way is to use EZ flash 2.

    Before you start , go to ASUS support and download latest Bios file. Z97-A BIOS 1205.
    Whilst your there, get the Bios renamer tool from Bios Utilities.

    Download these files to an empty Fat32 formatted USB stick.

    Activate the renamer and it will convert the bios file to Z97A .CAP extension.(check it has done its job)

    Insert USB and enter advanced mode of Bios.

    Go to Tool menu and access EZ flash utility.

    Press TAB to switch the drive field, using up and down arrow keys to find the latest Bios you downloaded.

    TAB to folder info field. then choose the bios file.

    When done, load optimized defaults in the EXIT menu.

    Reboot when the process is done.

    Up-dating Bios is not without risk, Do not shut down during bios flash.

    Any probs, report back.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 07-12-2014 at 09:03 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Hope you repped MM - nice write up mate.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Hello! I have the clock problems with the z97-A and will flash the bios.

    What does "load optimized defaults in the EXIT menu" mean? So in EZ flash menu there's the option to set some kind of default settings that will take effect after reboot?

    Thanks!
    iced

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    After you flash your bios your system is at default settings. You do not have to change anything.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    After you flash your bios your system is at default settings. You do not have to change anything.
    Thanks. Already did it and selected "load optimized defaults" for good measure. No idea if it changed anything but so far so good.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Can I get some help please? I did all the the things to rename it, but the new bios is not showing up. My USB is listed.

    Never mind, got it to work.
    Last edited by Furious1964; 03-08-2015 at 05:09 PM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Is BIOS flash necessary?

    Greets:

    I have a Z97-A arriving in a few days; just doing some research in the meantime. Is it necessary to flash the BIOS with the latest update,
    or should I wait until/if a problem arises? I built an X99-A machine last year and it gave me problems until I flashed, kept losing my
    boot order. Anyway, thanks for the advice....Mitch

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello ammck55, welcome to the ROG forum.

    As you say it's not necessary to update the bios unless your having some sort of problem.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks

    Thanks, Nate. I googled a bit more after posting here and found that the 4690K processor I have coming in will be supported by the BIOS on the z97-A board with no flash necessary. If so, I'm good to go with no flash. I called Asus support about this, and while they were cheerful and courteous, they didn't really answer any of my questions.

    A big thanks to MeanMachine; yours is the absolute best description of flashing using the EZ Flash 2 utility. I have it bookmarked for future reference and have confidence in your work.

    Thanks, guys....Mitch

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •