Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 120
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    These setting should be good to 5.0GHZ - 5.1GHz.
    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Optimized or Manual should do it - I can't quite remember the options off the top of my head in the Manual sub-section, but one of the more aggressive options in there should suffice.

    -Raja
    Thanks guys. I stuck with the optimized and as I mentioned already it is very stable at 1.38V now @ 4.8. I chose manual voltage instead of offset because I felt there is way too much range between min and max in the offset. Without offsetting anything +/- it did dip down to 1.1x range at idle but it did spike well into the 1.5x range (even saw a 1.61 once) which doesn't sit well with me. I wish there was a way to control the range as well. When I set a - offset I think it was too low because a couple of times I had problems booting.

    Seeing is I have run several benchmark programs to check stability with 4.8 @ 1.38 and have yet to have a single problem, I don't see any benefit in the offset going above 1.4 much less close to 1.6. I can see this being beneficial for a lower OC though.

    As for the 5.1 setup, thank you! That works just as well but I needed to jump to 1.45V for this to work. I am satisfied now knowing I can hit 5.1 and gotten more familiar with all the settings which is what I wanted in the first place. 4.8 is perfect for everyday multi-tasking over the stock 3.4.

    One thing I have noticed is with my current setup at 4.8 I am using 112-117 watts at idle whereas I was using in the 120 range with all defaults. That's not what surprises me, what does surprise me is the default 4.6 OC uses 160 watts at idle yet an extreme auto tune that hits 4.6 only uses 120-130. Not sure which settings are changed from default to auto tune that would make auto tune run more efficient. Just something I noted in case anybody else is reading this.

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array doze off. PC Specs
    doze off. PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6950X @ 4.25GHz 1.281V
    Memory (part number)Corsair 64Gb (4x16Gb) DDR4-3333MHz C16 @ XMP
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorAsus PG278Q 27" 2560x1440p 2,5k
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 512Gb M.2 + 960 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 1Tb 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCorsair 570X x/HD120 fans & Scythe
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ducky Channel One (MX Brown)
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset Sennheiser HD 600
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries 9HD
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    doze off.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I have a question, I'm still so understanding more about the offset. But the explanation you say:

    With the “-“, (negative) voltage range selected, the voltage you select will be subtracted from the load voltage we saw in the operating system.
    For example if our full load voltage was 1.376V in the operating system, and we’d like it to be 1.32V instead, we simply set 0.05V as the negative offset (1.37V-0.05V=1.32V).

    With this explanation I understood that: For example my 2600k requires 1.376v to be stabilized via LinX, if I use this mode and put offset -5 (as you described in your explanation), will be 1.326v, but with this voltage to be my system completely unstable. That's right?
    i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz 1.368v - Tr HR-02/120 Copper - Asus M4E B3 - N460GTX TOP @ 900MHz - Mushkin 996982 8 GB (2x4) 1600 C7 @ 2133 C9 1.5v - WD 750GB AADS - Corsair 620HX - Xonar Essence STX - LG Blu-Ray CH10LS20 - LG W2353V - RC-690 II @ 8 Scythe 120 fans
    Sorry for my English!

  3. #13
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by doze off. View Post

    With this explanation I understood that: For example my 2600k requires 1.376v to be stabilized via LinX, if I use this mode and put offset -5 (as you described in your explanation), will be 1.326v, but with this voltage to be my system completely unstable. That's right?
    You would have to set - Offset to 0.05V to get 1.326V from 1.376V.

    If it is stable at 1.376V, why would you want to lower the VCore to 1.326V and make the CPU unstable?

    -Raja

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array doze off. PC Specs
    doze off. PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6950X @ 4.25GHz 1.281V
    Memory (part number)Corsair 64Gb (4x16Gb) DDR4-3333MHz C16 @ XMP
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorAsus PG278Q 27" 2560x1440p 2,5k
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 512Gb M.2 + 960 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 1Tb 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCorsair 570X x/HD120 fans & Scythe
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ducky Channel One (MX Brown)
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset Sennheiser HD 600
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries 9HD
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    doze off.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    You would have to set - Offset to 0.05V to get 1.326V from 1.376V.

    If it is stable at 1.376V, why would you want to lower the VCore to 1.326V and make the CPU unstable?

    -Raja
    Because I'd like to understand what really makes the offset, because I see many people using and like to do here as well to test. But since I got 4.6GHz 1.376v stable or need to tamper with the offset mode then?
    And in what situation I would have to move? Thanks for the reply!
    i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz 1.368v - Tr HR-02/120 Copper - Asus M4E B3 - N460GTX TOP @ 900MHz - Mushkin 996982 8 GB (2x4) 1600 C7 @ 2133 C9 1.5v - WD 750GB AADS - Corsair 620HX - Xonar Essence STX - LG Blu-Ray CH10LS20 - LG W2353V - RC-690 II @ 8 Scythe 120 fans
    Sorry for my English!

  5. #15
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by doze off. View Post
    Because I'd like to understand what really makes the offset, because I see many people using and like to do here as well to test. But since I got 4.6GHz 1.376v stable or need to tamper with the offset mode then?
    And in what situation I would have to move? Thanks for the reply!

    You would only move to find lowest voltage the CPU is stable at - so run a stress test. Lower voltage by 0.01V, run the stress test again, etc. Find the minimum stable voltage and leave it there.

    -Raja

  6. #16
    Night Gyr
    Guest
    Hello.

    Is this feature available on non-ROG boards?

    Regards,
    --Night Gyr

  7. #17
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    All P67/Z68 boards AFAIK from P8P67 onwards.

    -Raja

  8. #18
    Night Gyr
    Guest
    Thank you.

    Given that he OC method is the same for the ROG and non-ROG boards, I'd like to know, what are the advantages of the ROG boards' power subsystem? What are the essential differences between those power subsystems?

  9. #19
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Mainly comes down to higher total current capacity on the major rails and perhaps a slightly better transient response. Due to platform integration any "performance" disparity between board models is only noticeable when chasing benchmark scores at high overclocks or when running very high DRAM speeds with all DIMM slots populated.

    -Raja

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    I just ran into a weird issue.

    For test purpose I run at:
    4.0Ghz via Turbo multiplier
    XMP memory profile at 1600mhz
    HT on
    Core controlable by OS
    Vcore offset: Auto
    LLC: 50%
    Vcore in bios after reboot: 1.175v
    CPU-z: 1.328v
    Bios:1902

    Am I missing something? 1.328v in CPU-z for this frequency seem way too high, not to mention that the bios and CPU-z have so different V-core value!

    Any help would be appreciated

    Thanks
    I7-2600K @3.40Ghz 1.088v
    Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    16Gb Gskill RipjawsX 9-9-9-24 @1600Mhz 1.35v
    EVGA GTX580 @775Mhz 1.000v
    Kingston SSDNow V Series Gen II 128GB
    Seasonic X-850 gold
    Corsair H50 w/2X Scythe Kaze Jyuni 120mm PWM fan
    AC Accelero Extreme Plus + VR004 GPU cooler
    Fractal Design Define XL Case w/4X Scythe Kaze Jyuni 120mm fan

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. need help stabalizing voltage to cpu
    By FalloutGod13 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 12:39 AM
  2. ASUS Rampage II Extreme Extreme Core i7 LN2 OverClocking
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 07:39 PM
  3. GTX 580 Overclocks and voltage spreadsheet
    By cblaxx19 in forum Overclocking & Tweaking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 04:07 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2010, 07:19 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-13-2010, 02:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •