Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 120
  1. #31
    ROG Member Array Foka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I have one i7 2600k + Maximus IV Extreme-Z

    When i put the vcore in offset AUTO.. everything works great.. but my vcore goes
    to 1.46 with processor working at 4.6.

    I tried to put "-" 0.06... (cuz i conclued without errors in LinX with 1.395)... But i received BSOD in windows loading all time...

    I did something wrong?

  2. #32
    rysiu
    Guest
    Why i can't change TURBO Settings (x43) its unavailable for me on gray, i cant change it like in your tutorial.

    And when i set offset like in your tutorial, i have monitored with HWMonitor, and minimum voltage was 0,22v !!?? Whats wrong, why it was so low? Normally in idle on 4,3ghz with offset is 0,94v and load 1,3v.

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array glw165's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    261

    same here @ 5ghz offset auto was ramping to 1.62, so i offset - from 0.100 to 0.025 and none work as it idles too low on vcore

    Coolermaster Cm Storm Stryker,
    I7 3770k Delidded @ 4.8,
    Asus Z77 Maximus V Etreme,
    Corsair Vengeance 16gb (2133),
    Evga gtx Titan,
    Ssd,
    Corsair Ax 1200 Psu!!!

  4. #34
    spoonman007
    Guest

    Smile Just my 2 cents

    Had the same problem u guys had , wanted lower voltages when at idle so looked into offset Vcore - what a pain - I ended up using auto but had to set LLC back down to 0% as auto was overvolting to much aswell as undervolting to much and would cause BSOD but is now perfect at 5.0Ghz Vcore auto offset idle @ 1.6Ghz - 1.26v +/- / 5Ghz -1.504 +/- . And i adjusted everything else first all voltages high and low for days on end. So i try to help others as this is a pain in the butt - 0 degradation so far and for months had my 2600k at over 1.5Vcore - lucky i guess - with huge water cooling setup.

  5. #35
    spoonman007
    Guest
    Sorry should have said - Had the same problem glw165 had and Foka too - but for everyone i would try changing LLC as this reflects highly in offset Vcore. rysiu i would try updating your bios sounds like an error / old bios.

    HAF-X - full window mod, Maximus IV Extreme P67 , 2600k @ 5Ghz - Vcore auto offset - 0% LLC , Kingston HyperX 2000 @ 1866 8-8-8-18 , Antec TPQ 1200 , MSI GTX 580 Lightning XT 3GB , HP ZR30w 2560x1600 res. , 2 C300 128Gb SSD RAID 0 Boot/Games/apps. - 2 WD Velociraptors 300Gb RAID 0 Backup/Storage , Dvd/Cd burner/reader Asus 24b1st , 6 fan controller , dual bay resevoir with 2 655 pumps over 2000 watts heat disapation through 2 360 rads , and 9 fans total!

    Soon to redo cooiing setup for more disapation with EK-Supreme blocks and 1 or 2 more rads all internal - HAF-X case is enormous, and the BEST!!! Pics will be up when cooling is redone.

  6. #36
    hrbngr
    Guest
    Ok,

    Does anyone understand how the Vcore Load-Line Calibration from the Maximus boards and the Load-line calibration from the Non-ROG boards--Z68Pro/Dlx compare? If the settings are the same, are the percentages the same as well?

    Next, does anyone have a feel for the stable idle voltage ranges useable for offset changes?

    Finally, I have seen various replies in this post for the voltage the mobo choose when running at various multipliers--does the motherboard use the manually entered multiplier and then increase voltage to the CPU until successful? If so, are there any ways to affect this value besides forcing a manual voltage amount?

    I would like to be able to set a max load voltage--say 1.40v for example--then determine maximum stable multiplier, while still being able to drop to a stable idle voltage using the "-" Offset Mode Sign feature--if possible.

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Fr0stX View Post
    Based on Raja answer, I can see the same here:

    Offset auto
    3.4 1.250v
    4.0 1.328v
    4.5 1.420v
    4.8 1.530v

    Using the offset mode - best stable value
    3.4 1.250v - 0.165 = 1.088v
    4.0 1.328v - 0.070 = 1.260v
    4.5 1.420v - 0.060 = 1.360v
    4.8 1.530v - 0.005 = 1.525v (not tested for stability for ovious reason...)

    Manual stable voltage:
    3.4 0.975v
    4.0 1.165v
    4.5 1.300v
    4.8 1.375v

    So my conclusion is:

    For stock undervolting or for people with low OC and computer sitting at idle for long period, the offset option is worth it.

    For higher overclock, the load voltage is too high to make this option worth it and in some case it is limit to be dangerous for long period (ex. 4.8 at 1.525v...)
    Nice post. I agree, offsetting is nice for a mild OC, but 4.5 and above it seems to be difficult. I think I would rather stay at 1.38 constantly rather than take the 1.5+ spikes.

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by spoonman007 View Post
    Had the same problem u guys had , wanted lower voltages when at idle so looked into offset Vcore - what a pain - I ended up using auto but had to set LLC back down to 0% as auto was overvolting to much aswell as undervolting to much and would cause BSOD but is now perfect at 5.0Ghz Vcore auto offset idle @ 1.6Ghz - 1.26v +/- / 5Ghz -1.504 +/- . And i adjusted everything else first all voltages high and low for days on end. So i try to help others as this is a pain in the butt - 0 degradation so far and for months had my 2600k at over 1.5Vcore - lucky i guess - with huge water cooling setup.

    I was kinda thinking about lowering LLC (even though it shows recommended levels for certain OC's)...... just might have to give this a shot.

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    I did some testing and found my peak vcore to go from 1.55 under full load to 1.46 by reducing LLC from 75% to 0%. Idle vcore remained unchanged at around 1.16-1.17. I might be able to deal with that. I don't mind hitting 1.46 as it would only do it for a short time when using the comp. I sometimes leave it on for long periods when I do use it, it's usually not under much of a load. I'm just wondering if LLC adjusts anything else besides the range of vcore since it does recommend certain settings depending on the OC. I'm still having issues with the computer locking up on the Windows startup screen, hopefully this will help narrow it down because I've tried everything else.

  10. #40
    Celty
    Guest
    I'm having good luck with Offset Mode, without getting errant spikes. I love not sending higher volts to the CPU at idle level activity. I started with a mild overclock, and gradually got to 4.8ghz, 4.9ghz, and 5ghz.

    Here is a quick overview of what I have gotten.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Overclock Data Summary.JPG 
Views:	242 
Size:	73.3 KB 
ID:	3921

    I describe the bios settings I use in detail here:

    http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.p...de-and-thread/

    Thanks to the posters here for the helpful information.

Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. need help stabalizing voltage to cpu
    By FalloutGod13 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 12:39 AM
  2. ASUS Rampage II Extreme Extreme Core i7 LN2 OverClocking
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 07:39 PM
  3. GTX 580 Overclocks and voltage spreadsheet
    By cblaxx19 in forum Overclocking & Tweaking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 04:07 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2010, 07:19 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-13-2010, 02:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •