cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fan Xpert does not control optional chassis fan

dy5828
Level 7
Hi, Im new to the ROG community. I recently bought a RIVE and I like it alot.

One issue I have having though is Fan Xpert from the AI Suite does seem to be able to find the optional chassis fan I have plugged in. I am currently using all 6 chassis fan headers. I can still manage to change the fan setting in the BIOS but it does not give me the full control and user curves that Fan Xpert have. I don't know if I am doing something wrong or it is like this. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Also on a side note. In using both AIDA 64 and AI Suite, I notice that the AI Suite's CPU temp is not the actual core temps. For example, in AIDA, I see 22c CPU with the cores themselves from 29c-33c while idle. In AI Suite, the CPU temp is just the 22c. Is there anyway to change that so it uses the core temps to trigger fans? because the BIOS default up the rpm at 60c which would mean the cores are already ar around 70c.

Thanks.
5 REPLIES 5

Delano_888
Level 7
True. Only CPU or case fans can be controlled via Fan Xpert and only if the fans have PWM.

There are 2 CPU fan headers, 3 case, & 3 opt. The 3 opt are not controllable via Fan Xpert, even if the fans have PWM.

I came to this thread looking for the same information.

What I realized on my own however is that it is not enabled by default.

1. you must enable fan control in the UEFI BIOS. I don't know that any particular kind of fan control matters.
2. you must "auto-tune" fan xpert2 for the program to see that there is fan control available. Otherwise, there will be no option to change fan values for optional fans. (note, before auto-tuning, I named the fan that had greyed-out controls. This shouldn't matter, but it's a step that I want to record here).