Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array R4E3960X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    316

    RAMPAGE IV EXTREME BIOS 2105 "C" Debug Code "40"

    After trying the 2105 "C" Bios which update both Intel SATA/RAID ROM and ASMEDIA SATA/RAID ROM with Windows 8 Enterprise Build 9200 for a week. In term of performance with ASMEDIA UPDATED SATA/RAID ROM it was very amazing performance gain over 2105 "B" which only updated Intel's ROM. My tested use of Windows 8 PRO RTM ISO size 3.35GB with my system (see signature below not overclock anything) . First, here is 2105b performance under ASMEDIA USB 3.0 controller with TOSHIBA USB 3.0 External HDD when use "Optimize" command it seems my external drive cannot reach over 60MB/sec transfer rate at all. Let updated BIOS to UnixSystem's 2105C BIOS now. Follow me, Now after 2105c updated , I've throwing Windows 8 Pro RTM ISO 3.35GB from external HDD to my OCZ Vertex III 120GB connected with Intel's 6Gbps port. Again, but throwing from my SSD back to it origin Ultimately performance , It's finally reach near 100MB/sec transfer rate under 2105C BIOS. Compare to 2105b 60MB/sec transfer without ASMEDIA ROM update with 2105c 100MB/sec with ASMEDIA ROM update. it was more than 33% performance gain under Windows 8 default driver. But there are debug code "40" on my RIVE. As reference code from manual it stand "System has waken up from S4 State " It's funny to hear that. Maybe my RIVE taken more sleepy pills by 2105C BIOS. It's rock!
    Last edited by R4E3960X; 09-04-2012 at 01:04 PM.
    Intel Core i7 3960X C2 SR0KF @3.3GHz ASUS RAMPAGE IV EXTREME BIOS 3602 03/15/2013 16 GB GSKILL ZL 9-9-9-24-1T @1600MHz Quad Channel HIS HD7979 1050MHz GPU 1500MHz DDR5 120GB OCZ VERTEX 3 SATA 6Gbps ASUS 24X DVD Corsair AX750 WINDOWS 8 PRO X64 6.2.9200.16384 RELEASE

  2. #2
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    I would suggest using a real Disk benchmark if you want to measure disk performance mate. The above shows nothing. There are several factors involved that (eg system cache) that make a copying operation very unreliable in terms of measuring drive performance.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Bios 2105 Debug Code

    I get the same Debug Code on my Rampage IV Extreme board after installing Windows 8 and converting the Rom to Cap files. If you also try to use Asus update (latest version) to update the Bios, it tells you, you are still using Rom files on the 2105 Cap version??? and will not update....I am also using Raid 0 configuration (2 SSD's) and it will only boot using Windows Boot Manager not the usual Intel Storage Drivers.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I get the same debug code as Markalrighty except that the code goes away if I do a restart. It's only there on cold boot.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    88
    Posts
    1,466

    Windows 8 does not really shut down, it only does a "hybrid" hibernate. The board has different codes for waking from sleep modes.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    Quote Originally Posted by HalloweenWeed View Post
    Windows 8 does not really shut down, it only does a "hybrid" hibernate. The board has different codes for waking from sleep modes.
    If it doesn't shutdown, wouldn't that make it impossible to install any software or updates?
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Windows 8 will hibernate the kernel and not the users session like in a real Windows 7 Hibernation, so when it boot it's faster . When you restart after install an update it will not hibernate the Kernel. The Code 40 is normal with Windows 8, I get it on my MIVE_Z too


    if it's bother you that much, just uncheck the Turnoff fast start up and it will do a real shutdown and the code 40 will not appear anymore

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fast.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	81.0 KB 
ID:	15650
    Last edited by Area 66; 01-07-2013 at 01:17 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Muchísimas gracias "Area 66" !!!! He podido solucionar mi problema, me estaba volviendo loco con ese error 40 que saltaba en mi Asus Maximus IV Extreme-z y no sabía ya que hacer. Muchas gracias de verdad, porque a veces iniciaba en frío y con la tarjeta de red deshabilitada y la única opción era reiniciar, gracias gracias gracias.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •