Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 66

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Question Question about Maximus V Formula CPU and Video Card power

    Hi, I was wondering if the 8 pin cpu power on the Maximus V formula would be necessary for a Intel i-5 3570k Ivy Bridge processor. My power supply doesn't have an 8 pin cpu cable so if I do need the 8 pin would there be any adapter? I have a Seasonic ss-700hm psu. Also, I was wondering if , since my psu didn't come with the second 6 pin pci-e modular cable, would my video card get enough power to run well if I use a 6 pin pci-e Y splitter to power my Video Card? I have an EVGA Nvidia GEForce 460. This will be my first build and I'm kind of confused about it.

    ~Kinesis22


    EDIT:
    Okay here are the parts I am thinking of using to build this computer:

    Motherboard: Maximus V Formula
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131854

    CPU: Intel i-5 3570K
    http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0388577

    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 rpm
    http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digita...S+Caviar+Black

    Video Card: EVGA Nvidia GEForce 460
    (I have this already)

    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB Dual Channel 1600 MHz 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM
    http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Vengea...rsair+16gb+ram

    Optical Drive: ASUS 24X DVD Burner
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827135204

    Chassis: NZXT Phantom Black Full Tower Case
    http://www.amazon.com/Crafted-Series...s=nzxt+phantom

    PSU: I have a Seasonic M12 SS-700HM but that is possible to change if it wont work.

    My goal is to keep this under $1050.
    If I missed anything or if any of the links are wrong let me know.

    ~Kinesis22
    Last edited by Kinesis22; 09-11-2012 at 03:34 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    Welcome to ROG.

    Plug in the 8pin to the mobo. Get you need 2 seperate six pin to molex connectot to connect to your PSU molex connector. Meaning one six pin to molex connector seperatly.
    Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Originally your PSU came with:
    1x20+4pin mobo power connector
    1x4 pin CPU power connector
    1x8 pin CPU power connector
    4x6 pin PCIe power connector
    1x6+2 pin PCIe power connector

    So, those connectors should be enough for all your hardware...

    The question is if you bought the PSU separately as a brand new item or it was built in a system already?
    If you bought it separately, then you should have all the cables...
    If it came built in a system, then perhaps it didn't need all the cables so they were not provided... - in this case, since the PSU is modular, you should look for the individual cables on the Seasonic homepage or even ebay...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Most certainly you will need the 8 pin 12V CPU connector. It is key.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Hmm, apparently when I bought it either I didn't see the list or they didn't have the list of cables (the first is more likely) because mine only had these:

    1 x ATX 24 Pin Connector (20+4)
    1 x 12V (P4)
    5 x Peripheral Connectors
    6 x SATA Power Connectors
    6 x Floppy Connectors
    1 x PCI-E Connector

    Is there any way to possibly make it work? Or do I absolutely have to buy a different power supply? I have no previous experience building a computer and I don't really understand all the connectors. I don't want to overclock yet so if the 8 pin cpu is only necessary for overclocking please let me know. Right now I want to know if the cables I would have to buy to make this psu work would just make it more costly than trying to sell this psu and buy a different one. The shipping cost about $15 so I would likely lose at least that much trying to sell it. Would all the cables I need to make this work in a full tower case cost more than about 25 dollars

    I'm going to edit the topic post with the information on the other parts I am thinking of using. I am building this all from parts I don't have a recent computer to just expand on.
    ~Kinesis22

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would change the PSU. That PSU is quite an old model.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Actually, it is better to connect all available power connectors... so, if you don't have the necessary cables, then yes - go ahead and get a new PSU

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Ok thanks, I'll work on getting a new one. Do I need to use both the 8 pin AND the 4 pin cpu power on the Maximus V Formula? And any opinions on good psu brands? Is Corsair good?
    ~Kinesis22

    ..................................................

    "Since there's only one of me shouldn't my opinion be doubled?"
    "Is it possible to play that game in your sleep?" "Oh definitely, I think better in my sleep."

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Yeah, it's better to connect both... it won't draw more power, just would be more stable...

    Both Seasonic and Corsair are good... - I personally like the Corsair's AX series...

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Do you think 550-650 watts would be enough power for the parts I am thinking of using?
    ~Kinesis22

    ..................................................

    "Since there's only one of me shouldn't my opinion be doubled?"
    "Is it possible to play that game in your sleep?" "Oh definitely, I think better in my sleep."

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •