Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 66
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Do you think 550-650 watts would be enough power for the parts I am thinking of using?
    ~Kinesis22

    ..................................................

    "Since there's only one of me shouldn't my opinion be doubled?"
    "Is it possible to play that game in your sleep?" "Oh definitely, I think better in my sleep."

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    What psus have an 8 pin and a 4 pin cpu power? I can't find any corsair psus that do, or I could just be reading it wrong. Does the Corsair TX 650 have everything I need?
    ~Kinesis22

    ..................................................

    "Since there's only one of me shouldn't my opinion be doubled?"
    "Is it possible to play that game in your sleep?" "Oh definitely, I think better in my sleep."

  3. #13
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    personaly i would sugest minimum 750-850w power suply ( one gpu ) or 1000W ( if your going to upgrade to 2 gpu's later in time ).
    Last edited by kkn; 09-11-2012 at 03:39 PM.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Pretty much all of the larger capacity PSU have the two 8 pin 12V connectors, one of which is split in two 4 pins.

    I will do a quick search for you, but you really only need the 8 pin if you are not going to be clocking beyond 5GHz. It is just better to populate all your PSU connectors if you can, just for the instance that you need the added voltages.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Ok, thanks for the help. Also I was wondering if I would need any kind of ram cooling fans or will fans I put in the case be enough if I don't overclock the ram?
    ~Kinesis22

    ..................................................

    "Since there's only one of me shouldn't my opinion be doubled?"
    "Is it possible to play that game in your sleep?" "Oh definitely, I think better in my sleep."

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I clock my ram to quite silly frequencies at times, and then I do need to actively cool the ram down. For normal everyday over-clocking say even to 2400MHz good air flow is all you need. A fan on or near the ram will not be a bad thing mind.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Cool, I'll keep that in mind. Did you find any psus that would work?
    ~Kinesis22

    ..................................................

    "Since there's only one of me shouldn't my opinion be doubled?"
    "Is it possible to play that game in your sleep?" "Oh definitely, I think better in my sleep."

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Sorry mate was busy trying to feed the pack of hyenas I call children. Will post up some PSU's that I can recommend in a short while. If you would like to read up a bit about PSU's there is only one place to read about them. And he has a odd sense of humour so be warned.

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kinesis22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Thanks for the link.
    ~Kinesis22

    ..................................................

    "Since there's only one of me shouldn't my opinion be doubled?"
    "Is it possible to play that game in your sleep?" "Oh definitely, I think better in my sleep."

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    http://www.enermax.co.uk/produkte/ne...olution85.html

    http://www.antec.com/product.php?id=704337&fid=343

    What you are looking for is PSU's that have 2 EPS connectors listed, normally 8 pin and 4 + 4 pin.

    I personally use Antec products for my benching system and test bench, but ennermax are good, the better Corsair PSU's and Seasonics are good too. Currently I am testing a German range called BeQuite but I am only in the third month of testing so can not really comment yet beyond it is looking very promising.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •