Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Does Phoebus work on 16x long PCI-E slot?

    Because I'm gonna get a motherboard which doesn't have the short PCI-E 1x slot.
    Anyone using phoebus on a long PCI-E?
    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Yes it will work in a PCIE x16 slot. The only thing that I can think of that you might want to consider, is any bandwidth issues you could possibly have. I won't be very good at explaining this but I found a link where you can get more info. http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=690442&mpage=1

    I know that a GTX 580 is very slightly bottlenecked at 8x

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Thanks Newt182! I'll look at my motherboard manual for the slot bandwidth

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by cutbuter4fmg View Post
    Thanks Newt182! I'll look at my motherboard manual for the slot bandwidth
    IMO bandwidth doesn't matter in this case.

    The phoebus itself is a pci-e 1x-card and will only use 1x-connection even when inserted into a 16x-slot.
    I am running mine in a 16x-slot without any problems (or benefits) over a 1x-slot.
    Last edited by H.A.M.mer; 09-11-2012 at 02:57 PM.

  5. #5
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    I have a GTX 560 with my Phoebus in the bottom slot of my CHVF and my card still runs native @ 16x

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.221v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080Ti Strix OC
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK ROG R6E Monoblock, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,649

    Yes i run SLI and my 2nd GPU blocks of my PCI-e 4x slot so i have it in a 16x slot works fine.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by H.A.M.mer View Post
    IMO bandwidth doesn't matter in this case.

    The phoebus itself is a pci-e 1x-card and will only use 1x-connection even when inserted into a 16x-slot.
    I am running mine in a 16x-slot without any problems (or benefits) over a 1x-slot.
    If he has 2x GTX 580's running in SLI @ x16 x16 and then adds any other card to a third PCIE slot, his motherboard PCIE slots might go down to x8 x8 x8 and that would affect the performance of his graphics. But it is dependant on the motherboard specs and how many lanes it has for the PCIE slots. Higher end boards will do x16 x16 x16.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.221v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080Ti Strix OC
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK ROG R6E Monoblock, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,649

    Quote Originally Posted by Newt182 View Post
    If he has 2x GTX 580's running in SLI @ x16 x16 and then adds any other card to a third PCIE slot, his motherboard PCIE slots might go down to x8 x8 x8 and that would affect the performance of his graphics. But it is dependant on the motherboard specs and how many lanes it has for the PCIE slots. Higher end boards will do x16 x16 x16.
    Even if one card was running @ 8x you wouldn't even be able to tell just like running a PCI-e 2.0 card in a 1.1 slot.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    Even if one card was running @ 8x you wouldn't even be able to tell just like running a PCI-e 2.0 card in a 1.1 slot.
    It seems you're right, the performance hit is about 1%.. I could of swore it was a bit more than that.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    When I install my Phobus on my MSI x97 Gaming 7 motherboard's PCI-e x16 slot (long slot), my PC doesn't boot up. Even the BIOS menu doesn't show up. Does anyone have any solution to this? I need to install it to that long slot beceuse it is the farest from my GPU and I wanna get rid of the noise problems on this card. Maybe there is a setting for that slot to work with my soundcard? Any advices are highly appreciated.
    Last edited by denizg; 04-18-2015 at 01:15 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •