Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    USER GUIDE:Maximus IV Extreme + 8GB GSkill Flare BIOS setting guide for DDR3-2133

    Just a quick post for anyone that has this kit and is looking for overclocked settings. These should give you a starting point. No guarantees these will work on every CPU and memory as no two processors or memory modules are exactly the same.

    Test Components

    Maximus IV Extreme - BIOS 1485
    Corsair AX1200 PSU
    OCZ 120GB Vertex SSD
    GSkill Flare 8GB f3-16000CL8D-8GBFLS Memory Kit
    Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler + 2x120MM fans (push-pull)



    You may ignore my CPU overclock settings and choose to substitute your own as parts and cooling allow

    BIOS Settings:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scrn2.jpg 
Views:	4281 
Size:	170.4 KB 
ID:	653Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scrn4.jpg 
Views:	3630 
Size:	188.9 KB 
ID:	654Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scrn1.jpg 
Views:	3609 
Size:	171.8 KB 
ID:	655Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scrn6.jpg 
Views:	3525 
Size:	173.7 KB 
ID:	656Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scrn5.jpg 
Views:	3501 
Size:	177.1 KB 
ID:	657Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scrn3.jpg 
Views:	3518 
Size:	171.5 KB 
ID:	658

    tRRD, tRTP, tWTR are all set as tight as DDR3 timing constraints allow at the chipset level.


    tRAS can go one clock tighter to 23 if desired (minimum tRAS is tRCD+CAS+tRTP), though some modules might need a touch more VDIMM.



    I have set BCLK skew to +100 as it helps with stability on my CPU - you may wish to experiment with this.


    Stability screenshots

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MIVEGSKILL2133MEMTESTPASS.jpg 
Views:	3563 
Size:	285.7 KB 
ID:	659Click image for larger version. 

Name:	32mcomplete-flare2133.jpg 
Views:	3496 
Size:	359.7 KB 
ID:	660



    Any questions, feel free to ask.

    -Raja

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    G skills ram is more compatible than corsair for this motherboard?

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    No, it depends on the IC more than the vendor.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    ok. because i got Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 and my system keeps on freezing. i don't know what's wrong with it

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Update to BIOS 1850 and see if that helps. If it does not, let me know. Be sure to provide all your system info - all parts used, drivers and configuration.

    Raja

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    @ Raja@ASUS will this work with my system?

    Systemboard: ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost)
    CPU Cooling: CORSAIR Hydro H70 CWCH70 120mm High Performance CPU Cooler
    PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING Series LIGHTNING-1000 1000W ATX12V/EPS12V
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II MLC
    Video Card: EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 580
    Ram: CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000
    Case: IN WIN Dragon Rider Black
    Other: CORSAIR AirFlow Pro

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Hi,

    You mean the settings in the first post work with your memory? May need some adjustments to voltages and timings depending upon the capabilities of your memory kit and CPU. You can try I suppose.

    -Raja

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Hi,

    You mean the settings in the first post work with your memory? May need some adjustments to voltages and timings depending upon the capabilities of your memory kit and CPU. You can try I suppose.

    -Raja
    I will try it. If it does not work could you help me tweak it to make it work?

  9. #9
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Sure, you will need to post up your settings and such if need be.

    -Raja

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Raja this is mine I tried your settings but it freezed after a few days... not sure what else to do.. temps are ok. CPU is at 40 and Board is 41.

    ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z LGA 1155 Intel Z68
    CPU: i7 2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9R
    LIAN LI PC-V354B Black Aluminum MicroATX Mini Tower
    Corsair 120SSD
    Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB
    SAMSUNG EcoGreen F4 HD204UI 2TB
    CORSAIR Professional Series HX850 (CMPSU-850HX)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 145
    Last Post: 10-06-2014, 03:25 AM
  2. How to Overclock ASUS RAMPAGE III Extreme BIOS GUIDE
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 12:57 AM
  3. ASUS Rampage III Extreme Overclocking BIOS Guide
    By V2-V3 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2011, 09:23 PM
  4. user default setting in Bios?
    By Lucciola in forum G Series Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2011, 04:10 AM
  5. PLZ.,,.POST OVERCLOKING GUIDE FOR MAXIMUS III FORMULA.,.,
    By GRIDLOCK in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 06:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •