Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Blinking screen after installing latest GFX drivers?

    I just installed the latest Geforce drivers and after booting, the screen was blinking all the time. IMage, no image, image, no image, etc. It was impossible to do something.

    My only chance was the start the laptop in safemode and check "use last driver".

    What could cause this and what can I do?

    EDIT:
    I am currently using 296.44
    The problems showed when trying a 306.23

    EDIT 2:
    I get the same effect in 296.44, when I close Firefox. Switching off 3D complete, solves this.
    But in 306.23 this effect shows up after booting and not only once like the Firefox closing, but again and again and again and never stops.
    Last edited by Fanty; 09-16-2012 at 01:49 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array iBoody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Hi, Havent you try Custom/Clean Install? If Not, boot from the Safe mode and try to Install it again with Clean Installation. That should work...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    It sounds like it may be trying to set up multiple monitors and cycling through resolution settings. Anything plugged into your HDMI or VGA ports? Check out Resolution settings.

    @iBoody's clean install from Safe Mode suggestion is a good idea.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 09-16-2012 at 02:03 PM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    please try this:

    1. uninstall all related drivers about nvidia (everything; find them in Programs and Features in control panel; if there is an option for you to remove all settings, do that too)
    2. reboot to safe mode (pressing f8 key for several times before the windows logo appears).
    3. install the new nvidia drivers.
    4. reboot normally.

    good luck :/

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Quote Originally Posted by iBoody View Post
    Hi, Havent you try Custom/Clean Install? If Not, boot from the Safe mode and try to Install it again with Clean Installation. That should work...
    What do you mean with "clean install"? Manually un-installing the 296.44 before installing 306.23?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array iBoody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Fanty View Post
    What do you mean with "clean install"? Manually un-installing the 296.44 before installing 306.23?
    In the safe mode, when you run the setup.exe, you will comes to a screen asking Installing Options. In here,
    • Select the Custom (Advanced)
    • Click Next-> checked every driver components (some preferred not to select nVidia update) + Select 'Performe Clean Installation'


    try this out buddy...

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Ok, I tried it. Now it says I have the driver installed.
    But now there is a new problem:

    It doesnt recognize my 3D glasses.
    It asks me for 4 different kind of glasses, no option un-greys the "continue" (or whatever its name in english versions - I use a German one) may be.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Update:
    Ok, fixed it.

    I uninstalled and clean installed again. Now it works.

    Thanks.

    *phew*

    I hate things like this.
    Note to myself: If its not broken, dont fix it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •