Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    It's time to FIX this TOOL ..... took too long !

    Hi, i can absolutely assure the DEV Team of GPU Tweak, that after version 2.0.8.3 , not a single other version will run on HD 6870 DC cards. There was a ton of problems to make even that old version support it, to some degree, but it's a total joke to see that Asus drop the support right after that. There are like 20 threads here regarding the program not starting, and i can confirm that the particular problem i have is concentrated only in the Card i own.

    All latest versions have been tested on win 7 and win 8 RP, for some time there was an error , about a 2bpainter.exe or something like that .... now the latest version don't even try to run .... just won't execute a thing.

    Asus , this is a total **** ! and after 1 year of developing , You have made 0% progress , not to mention that Asus is one of the largest card manufacturers without a PROPER OVERCLOCING TOOL FOR THEIR RANGE OF SUPER BUFFED VIDEO CARDS.

    Please, MarshallR, it's time to release a normal, final, all working version, or at least Add AGAIN support for the HD 6870 DC , so i don't need to use something made 8 months ago .....

    Will appreciate any help or info.

    Cheers...
    Last edited by madmav; 09-27-2012 at 09:22 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I very much agree, ASUS GPU Tweak is the only program that fully supports my GTX 580. Its been too long, way too long please fix this ****

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    56

    +3...... i have the Asus GTX 690 and it does not play nice at all ! Hence having to use another brand of software control which runs perfect (Precisionx). The bit that really scares me is that the Tweak tool lets you flash your card if there is any updates - NO WAY Would i want to flash my card with flaky software.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    Move on with another software that work. Using Asus gfx card not limit to their tweaking software. Unless those issue address by the Asus software developer. I will continue using others and move on.
    Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    56

    What planet are you on , MOVE ON !
    I don't think so my friend ! I paid the best part of £1000 for my TOP End card and expect the accompanied software to Work !
    I don't mind using another Brands software , but it does not look Good on ASUS !

    Secondly - can ASUS Confirm a new firmware for the GTX 690 ? There is one flying around to fix some bugs only just released. Beings though its a reference card from Nvidia - all cards the same, will we be seeing this soon ?

    THX

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by lenehan View Post
    Move on with another software that work. Using Asus gfx card not limit to their tweaking software. Unless those issue address by the Asus software developer. I will continue using others and move on.
    Mate, you are not quite right. I will be happy to use other overclocking utilities if i COULD. My asus HD 6870 DC card is with a non Reference PCB and volt regulators. So no other software can control the Vcore. Only Trixx can, but i have almost fried my card yesterday, because when i hit reset to dafault in trixx , the software applies the MAX POSSIBLE voltage (which strangely for my product is 1.9v !!!! ) ! So there is no other option for me but to use GPU Tweak....
    Last edited by madmav; 09-30-2012 at 12:25 PM.

  7. #7
    Here is my ROG title Array Granger PC Specs
    Granger PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Formula V
    ProcessorPhenom II 1100T
    Memory (part number)G-Skill RipjawsX 2x4Gb@1838Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD7970 OC VaporX
    MonitorSamsung Syncmaster 2253LW + 2 Packard Bell 19.5" vga
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850EVO 250gb
    Storage #2250gb SSD + 4 HD 3Tb total + NAS 3Tb
    CPU CoolerSwiftech custom loop
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF 932 modified
    Power SupplyCoolermaster SilentPro Hybrid 1300W
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ourobouros
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Exact Mat
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterISP provided (Free)
    Accessory #1 Razer Hydra
    Accessory #2 Madcatz Arcade Fightstick
    Accessory #3 Belkin n52te
    Granger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    419

    Won't MSI Afterburner work with the 6870 cards, admitted, I'm not OCing the Asus, but my Sapphire is a non reference card as well, and I use the MSI AB to get the same clock speeds with the Sapphire that I have on stock with the Asus 6870 DC


  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    Quote Originally Posted by snout View Post
    What planet are you on , MOVE ON !
    I don't think so my friend ! I paid the best part of £1000 for my TOP End card and expect the accompanied software to Work !
    I don't mind using another Brands software , but it does not look Good on ASUS !

    Secondly - can ASUS Confirm a new firmware for the GTX 690 ? There is one flying around to fix some bugs only just released. Beings though its a reference card from Nvidia - all cards the same, will we be seeing this soon ?

    THX
    I am living the same world as you . Asus software R&D never their forte. We all have to wait for new update.
    Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Granger View Post
    Won't MSI Afterburner work with the 6870 cards, admitted, I'm not OCing the Asus, but my Sapphire is a non reference card as well, and I use the MSI AB to get the same clock speeds with the Sapphire that I have on stock with the Asus 6870 DC
    I have tried with MSI afterburner, but i could not make it run, if someone can .... i will be very great full , but as much es i know, it's not possible. The PCB is not the problem, the actual volt regulators are....

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    This tool would be more useful and accepted it if it functioned for a majority of cards. Have encountered NO problems using the Sapphire or EVGA tools AND they work beautifully.
    Crosshair V Formula Z BIOS 2101
    AMD FX9590 4.712GHz (stock)
    XFX R7970 TDBC Double Dissipation Black Edition @ 1000Hz/1425Hz mem (stock)
    XFX R7970 TDBC Double Dissipation Black Edition @ 1000Hz/1425Hz mem (stock)
    Samsung 850PRO 256 Gb + 840PRO + WD 750 Black 6Gb/s
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600 Hz 32Gb
    Corsair 600T White w/USAdystopia p/p SwiftechH220 alternative cooling method w/Cougar PWM fans
    Dell U2711 2560 x 1440
    Corsair K70RGB/M65 keyboard/mouse
    Corsair AX1200
    Windows 7 64

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •