cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G53SX Will not finish POST. Intermittent problem.

mesosparkle
Level 7
Hi everyone,
I'm hoping someone can help me with this issue I'm having with my G53SX. By the way, I work in IT, so please, get technical with me, I'll understand.

The problem I'm running into is similar, but not exactly the same problem as the Black Screen issue, which is the issue where the screen stays dark but the system finishes the Power On Self Test and boots windows without display.

My problem is different. When I power on the laptop, it does power on, but it will not finish the POST sequence. I can hear the system fans turn on, and I hear both the DVD and the Hard Disk initialize, but the keyboard does not light up, the system fans do not do that signature max-out when the BIOS fully POST's, it just sits there.

I already sent it in to Asus for service. (Case # USG9291764) and they sent back the form stating
Issue was Duplicated. Your laptop has been Repaired.
No specific boxes were checked though, and no specific entry was written in the Other box.
They DID re-load the OS because I sent the laptop in with the hard drive blanked out. They restored the factory software. I recieved it, and it worked great for a day. The next morning, I turn it on only to find that it's doing the same thing. It refuses to finish POST when powered on.

I have tried removing the battery and running just off of the AC adaptor. Same result
I have tried another known good battery (I have two of these laptops, exact same make and model) Same result.
I have tried another known-good AC Adaptor, same as above, same result.

After trying the usual, and poking around the forums and Asus's support site, I found an article mentioning to check the RAM. So I did that, I disassembled the laptop and removed the RAM chip from the user-accessible area where you take out the cover to get to the hard disk.