Page 10 of 14 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 138
  1. #91
    B(TX)assist Array 4Strings PC Specs
    4Strings PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ZBook Studio G3 (Intel Xeon E3-1505M, 16GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro m1000M, 500GB + 1TB M.2)
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X399-A
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X @ 4.166GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z (non-RGB) 3200MHz (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti GX11G
    Sound CardPropellerhead Balance (USB DAC/ADC)
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HK
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    Storage #2WD Blue SATA SSD (500GB) + HGST NAS Drive (3TB) + WD Red (4TB, 2x in RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech 360 sTR4
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02 (Black, Windowed)
    Power SupplyEnermax MaxTytan 1050W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50 + Massdrop AGK K7XX
    Mouse Pad Tek Syndicate XXL Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U + TP-Link TL-SG1005D (5-Port Gigabit Switch)
    Accessory #1 Korg microKorg Midi Keyboard
    4Strings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    223

    Quote Originally Posted by speed View Post
    The new pile driver and a CHV-Z and 16 or 32 gig of Corsair Dom 2133 and at least 2 7970's I want 2 7990's, but at a grand each that may not happen. I'll use my current machine as a back up and run my severs. my current back up I'll give to my mom or something.
    @speed
    Same basic setup for me too. 'cept I can't really afford two 7970's, have to go with either just one '70 or even a 7950 if I can't save up enough... But the 7990 is SICK! :P
    Sorry for being nosy, but what case are you planning on using?

    Also gonna use most of my current "rig" for my mom. Might buy a low end graphics card (one that doesn't reach 99C under medium load), and will put in her HP Pavilion (circa 2005) tower case, after I mod it a bit of course.

  2. #92
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    I'll say one thing...

    OCing on my system has semed to need more volts with Win 8. The startup takes extra volts to get to windows compared to my copy of win 7

    I am on relese preview not final don't know if there is much difference. Will have to upgrade to find out...

  3. #93
    ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎ Array Gorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    90
    Posts
    627

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I'll say one thing...

    OCing on my system has semed to need more volts with Win 8. The startup takes extra volts to get to windows compared to my copy of win 7

    I am on relese preview not final don't know if there is much difference. Will have to upgrade to find out...
    Well that does make sense, doesn't it?

    A new generation of OS would definitely require more hardware.

    People made the same comments about Vista requiring more resources than XP... And probably about 2K before that.

  4. #94
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Quote Originally Posted by Gorman View Post
    Well that does make sense, doesn't it?
    well, not really ; since the whole point of it's existence is to run on a generation of hardware where lower power consumption is the whole industry's Holy Grail.

    In fact I believe Microsoft say it is more power efficient and on average it probably is....My comment is purely about the launch phase...and still bears testing....just interested to hear if anyone else has noticed this.

    EDIT: Hehe... http://www.techspot.com/news/50442-m...windows-8.html .....so definitely a work in progress. Good stuff! I like a lot of the new things in it....if they can improve performance now..... great!!

  5. #95
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    why don't we get the choice of the desktop for desktops?! really simple Microsoft
    we do, it's called alt+tab or windows button, or click on where it says "desktop"

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    you can't open either start or task-bar item without clicking on the wrong one first and doing it twice over!
    lol, I open EVERYTHING with 1 click without doing it "twice over", I think your rig is messed up

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Benchmarks seem to run a bit better on Win 7 from what I can find
    benchmarks may be better but on my rig running rampage iv extreme mobo with gtx 680 real worl performance is much more smooth on windows 8 than it is on windows 7 for me.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I'll say one thing...

    I am on release preview not final don't know if there is much difference. Will have to upgrade to find out...
    there is a huge difference, release preview is so bugged I can't even play battlefield3, slow performance ect, no issues what so ever on my rig using the RTM version of windows 8.
    Last edited by Amb669; 10-12-2012 at 03:15 PM.

  6. #96
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array sectionate PC Specs
    sectionate PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    Processor8350 - 1090T
    Memory (part number)G Skill Sniper F3-14900CL9-4GBSR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX660-DC2O-2GD5
    MonitorAcer GD235HZ - ViewSonic VX2439wm - SyncMaster P2350
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional HX850
    Mouse Zowie EC1 eVo
    OS Microsoft Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
    sectionate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    878

    wait for windows 9, everyone should know the pattern by now
    Crosshair IV 1090T 4093.7 - Crosshair V FX - 8350 Batch # 1243PGT 4.422MHz - 4816.08 MHz 1.5v - GSKILL F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR(x2)1087.6 11-12-10 1.5volts - ViewSonic VX2439wm - Acer GD235HZ - SyncMaster P2350 - PowerColor Red Devil RX 480 8GBD5-3DH/OC - Current Mode: 5760 x 1080 - (retired) ASUS GTX660DC2O2GD5 - Nvidia 3D Vision Wired - HAF 932 - Corsair HX850 - Corsair H100i - latest quakelive.com - Day thirteen 60fps - as always I'm powered by Futurelooks.com

  7. #97
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by sectionate View Post
    wait for windows 9, everyone should know the pattern by now
    Binary! good,bad,good,?bad? =1 0 1 ?0?
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  8. #98
    B(TX)assist Array 4Strings PC Specs
    4Strings PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ZBook Studio G3 (Intel Xeon E3-1505M, 16GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro m1000M, 500GB + 1TB M.2)
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X399-A
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X @ 4.166GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z (non-RGB) 3200MHz (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti GX11G
    Sound CardPropellerhead Balance (USB DAC/ADC)
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HK
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    Storage #2WD Blue SATA SSD (500GB) + HGST NAS Drive (3TB) + WD Red (4TB, 2x in RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech 360 sTR4
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02 (Black, Windowed)
    Power SupplyEnermax MaxTytan 1050W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50 + Massdrop AGK K7XX
    Mouse Pad Tek Syndicate XXL Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U + TP-Link TL-SG1005D (5-Port Gigabit Switch)
    Accessory #1 Korg microKorg Midi Keyboard
    4Strings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    223

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    Binary! good,bad,good,?bad? =1 0 1 ?0?
    LOL... Think we'll get DX12 within the Win8 lifetime?

  9. #99
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by 4Strings View Post
    LOL... Think we'll get DX12 within the Win8 lifetime?
    Maybe...who knows, are we going to get DirectTouch now?
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  10. #100
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    712

    Quote Originally Posted by 4Strings View Post
    @speed
    Same basic setup for me too. 'cept I can't really afford two 7970's, have to go with either just one '70 or even a 7950 if I can't save up enough... But the 7990 is SICK! :P
    Sorry for being nosy, but what case are you planning on using?

    Also gonna use most of my current "rig" for my mom. Might buy a low end graphics card (one that doesn't reach 99C under medium load), and will put in her HP Pavilion (circa 2005) tower case, after I mod it a bit of course.
    I'll not be using an Asus board now. customer service just not there. Asrock is my next choice. Asus will never get another dime from me.

Page 10 of 14 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •