Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 80
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    G74 and 8GB Memory DIMMs...

    Does anyone here know if the G74 series will take the new 8GB DIMMs that are just starting to populate the market now? I.e. can one upgrade the G74 to 32GB of RAM by putting four of these in? I'm running Linux on the G74 and certainly will be able to address 32GB if I could get it...I also read that the i7 2630QM will actually address 32GB, but will only run it in single channel mode (anything that uses up to 16GB will run that first 16GB in dual channel mode).

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Sorry I can't be of use in your inquiry but I was wondering what sort of tasks do users (not business oriented computation) with 32GB of RAM actually do on their laptops for instance O_o ?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    if this thing will see that much, and i doubt it, the only benefit i can see is in the channeling...oops i see tc is on it

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by TKS View Post
    Sorry I can't be of use in your inquiry but I was wondering what sort of tasks do users (not business oriented computation) with 32GB of RAM actually do on their laptops for instance O_o ?
    I am a radio astronomer by trade, and the datasets I deal with are very large (e.g. 1/2 GB for a single image, and >100 GB for one datacube). As well the software that processes it needs to have access to alot of RAM. For example, some of the fortran programs I run to process data actually take 14GB RAM to just compile them! Then, in running some of these tasks (e.g. fast fourier transforms) those programs will often use 8-12 GB RAM. As well, visualizing the data (i.e. display it) and being able to take in the big picture while simultaneously seeing fine details is the way big science is done today in radio astronomy. With 16GB of RAM I can display 16GB of data at once, which is pretty good, but twice as much would be a more efficient way of looking at it, and might make the difference between discovering something new in the universe or missing it...

    Quite simply hardware has not caught up to the amount of data that is produced by today's observations.

    Anyone out there that knows if the G74 can actually take 8GB sticks?
    Last edited by fostert; 12-12-2011 at 05:29 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Anyone out there that knows if the G74 can actually take 8GB sticks?
    I strongly suspect the answer is no. If only because, in my experience, a BIOS includes RAM compatibility info, so when Asus product specs say the G74 supports "up to 16Gb" they mean that that's all they have accommodated in the BIOS.

    I'd be very curious if anybody is willing to buy 8Gb modules and see if they're recognized. If they're not, I can't see any reason a future BIOS update couldn't fix that.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    I found this site: http://www.powernotebooks.com/ASUS-C...ks-cat-65.html
    These guys will customize the G74SX to your order, including putting 4x8GB=32 Gb into it (for an extra $1095).

    I could get 4 of these for under $500:
    http://ncix.com/products/?sku=64472&...acture=Corsair

    Maybe they also tweak the BIOS for you if there is a limitation there?
    Last edited by fostert; 12-13-2011 at 04:24 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    OK, so I have decided to gamble...have ordered 4x8GB sticks of
    http://www.corsair.com/memory/notebo...m1a1333c9.html
    from NCIX. Everything I have read suggests that the core i7 2630QM will have no trouble addressing that much, so it comes down to the BIOS in the G74. If its hardcoded to only deal with 16GB then I will have to decide whether to keep the RAM and hope for an ASUS BIOS update to cure my problem; otherwise I have 15 days to return the 4 sticks (minus a 15% restocking fee...oh well, as I said its a gamble).

    RAM has arrived today but I am too tired to put it in tonight...will probably try this on the weekend.
    Watch this space for my results...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Good luck! I'm anxious to hear how it works out.

  9. #9
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    You cannot use 32GB of memory on the G74. Intel limits the memory controller to 16GB - very few laptops will currently support 32GB of memory and none with standard consumer-grade dual or quad-cores will.

    http://ark.intel.com/products/52219/...ache-2_00-GHz)

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    337

    Alienware m17x supports at least 24gb ram (1333)
    http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...wm17xr3dkcwvn1

    Clevo supports 32gb ram
    http://www.wsi-bg.com/index.php?opti...id=43&TreeId=1

    MSI supports 32gb ram too
    http://www.msi.com/product/nb/GT685-...=Specification

    I REALLY HOPE for a new bios version regarding at least the G74/73/53/52/51 models..

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •