Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 142

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Adding RAM to G75

    Hello I'm new to these forums so sorry if there is already a thread on this. I have a G75VW-BBK5 (bought from Bestbuy) It currently has 8 gigs of RAM and I am planning on adding more to get 16 gigs of RAM, I Don't know too much about the speeds and brands of RAM and was wondering what would you recommend me buying, sorry if this question sounds dumb but I just don't know much on what exactly I'm supposed to be looking for. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    hi biRdyxLoCo,

    if you are planning to buy new ram:

    1. please run hwinfo64 to get the specs of your stock ram. here is a simple guide for your reference.



    2. look for the matching ram. here is the list of possible compatible ram for most of us (but please compare with yours first). if possible, bring along your machine to the shop and ask them to test out your new ram. use hwinfo64 to determine if all ram runs at 800MHz or close to it (i.e. dual channel)
    3. here is a youtube video on how you install the ram properly.

    basically for most of us our stock ram is with the timings 11-11-11-28 (DDR3 PC3-12800 SODIMM 1600mhz CL11 1.5V RAM).

    Stock RAM
    1. Hynix 4GB PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz non-ECC Unbuffered HMT351S6CFR8C-PB
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	41U6-MvE7EL._SL500_.jpg 
Views:	287 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	16491

    Manufacturer: Hynix
    Manufacturer Part number: HMT351S6CFR8C-PB
    Memory Type: SODIMM
    Capacity: 4GB
    Pins: 204 Pin
    Bus Type: PC-12800
    Cycle Time: 1.5ns
    Cas: CL11
    Data Transfer Rate: 1600Mhz
    Memory Clock: 200Mhz
    Voltage: 1.5V

    Complete Swap of RAM (upgrading to 32gb of RAM; caution: warranty void)

    1. compatible RAM for full swap:
    a) 11-11-11-28, 1.35v, Mushkin part #997038 (source; related thread)
    b) 10-10-10-28, 1.5v G.Skill (source; related thread)

    notes:
    - corsair vengeance (10-10-10-27) might not work.

    videos:
    - G55 full swap (in french) - 4x4gb corsair vengeance
    Last edited by rewben; 01-30-2013 at 09:04 AM. Reason: update v.2

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks Rewben, your post was very helpful just ordered some new RAM using the guide and can't wait for it to get here!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    So if I buy the G.Skill 10-10-10-28 that you linked to it should work perfectly fine in my g75vw bbk5?

    Im right under 800 mHz and my timing is 11-11-11-28

    so will the gSkill work even though its 10-10-10 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231582)

    Or would the Mushkin work better since its has same timing. But also has higher voltage (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226323)

    sorry for the newb questions
    Last edited by Tusccar; 02-28-2013 at 07:35 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    hi biRdyxLoCo,

    if you are planning to buy new ram:

    1. please run hwinfo64 to get the specs of your stock ram. here is a simple guide for your reference.



    2. look for the matching ram. here is the list of possible compatible ram for most of us (but please compare with yours first). if possible, bring along your machine to the shop and ask them to test out your new ram. use hwinfo64 to determine if all ram runs at 800MHz or close to it (i.e. dual channel)
    3. here is a youtube video on how you install the ram properly.

    basically for most of us our stock ram is with the timings 11-11-11-28 (DDR3 PC3-12800 SODIMM 1600mhz CL11 1.5V RAM).

    Stock RAM
    1. Hynix 4GB PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz non-ECC Unbuffered HMT351S6CFR8C-PB
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	41U6-MvE7EL._SL500_.jpg 
Views:	287 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	16491

    Manufacturer: Hynix
    Manufacturer Part number: HMT351S6CFR8C-PB
    Memory Type: SODIMM
    Capacity: 4GB
    Pins: 204 Pin
    Bus Type: PC-12800
    Cycle Time: 1.5ns
    Cas: CL11
    Data Transfer Rate: 1600Mhz
    Memory Clock: 200Mhz
    Voltage: 1.5V

    Complete Swap of RAM (upgrading to 32gb of RAM; caution: warranty void)

    1. compatible RAM for full swap:
    a) 11-11-11-28, 1.35v, Mushkin part #997038 (source; related thread)
    b) 10-10-10-28, 1.5v G.Skill (source; related thread)

    notes:
    - corsair vengeance (10-10-10-27) might not work.

    videos:
    - G55 full swap (in french) - 4x4gb corsair vengeance
    rewben,

    I want to add ram to my g75vx, i check in shops , available only corsair vengeance that has 1600mhz.. is this compatible with my stock ram? how can i be sure so my penny will not go to waste. TNX
    G75VX
    I7 3630 QM 2.40GHZ
    16 GB HYUNDAI PC3-12800 (800 MHz) DDR3
    3 GB GEFORCE GTX 670MX
    240 SSD KINGSTON HYPERX
    750 SSH SEAGATE
    17" FULL HD
    WIN 8 64 SINGLE LANGUAGE

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231705

    Any thoughts about these sticks?!

    Photoshop, Illustrator, Visual Studio 2013 Ultimate, Dragon Naturally Speaking 12.5 my main applications.

    Maybe while I'm at it all ask about:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231705
    And:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822178340

    I'm into the overall game of web development and coding my own applications as a hobby (once in a while as a freelancer).
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

    Rob

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Those sticks should be fine, as far as I can tell. That should be enough RAM for your machine, especially since you can add those two sticks in with the others that are already in there, and take your machine up to 24 GB of RAM.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    you're welcome

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    DS-71 4th ram position

    Hello,

    I'm about to buy the ds-71 version (which has 12 gb ram).
    Please clarify me of the ram configuration. Is it 3 x 4gb?
    If so, where is the fourth available slot for upgrade? Is it in the 'easily' accessible area?
    Do I need to disassemble the entire laptop to add that single ram?
    (I've seen some disassembly guide, but I'm not sure if all the ram slots are on one side)

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    @Xenos, the answer is yes. I believe they leave one of the easily accessible areas open.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •