Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 4 12 13 14 15 LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 142
  1. #131
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    ok i got the ASUS G75JT with the 16gb of ram is it really worth it for me to buy 16gb more of ram and throw in this laptop

  2. #132
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by razielleonhart View Post
    ok i got the ASUS G75JT with the 16gb of ram is it really worth it for me to buy 16gb more of ram and throw in this laptop
    whether it is worth it or not, the answer actually depends on usage. for general use and gaming, 16gb is usually good enough imo.

    however, if you use ram for system optimizations, e.g. ramdisk and ram-based caching, then the more the merrier.

  3. #133
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    is there a way to verify if 1866Mhz modules is running as low voltage or not? I tried many progs but none was really saying this detail, only that memory modules have both profiles. (g75vx)

  4. #134
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Would this fit in my G75 as full replacement:

    https://www.alternate.de/G-Skill/SO-...roduct/1154637

    and would be the better timings 9/9/9/9 improve performance?

  5. #135
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by Konstantin77 View Post
    is there a way to verify if 1866Mhz modules is running as low voltage or not? I tried many progs but none was really saying this detail, only that memory modules have both profiles. (g75vx)
    i thought hwinfo does state the voltage for your ram at the system summary page.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikee View Post
    Would this fit in my G75 as full replacement:

    https://www.alternate.de/G-Skill/SO-...roduct/1154637

    and would be the better timings 9/9/9/9 improve performance?
    the kit should work fine. previously i ran crucial ballistix sport 1.35v 4x8gb.

    as for the question about ram timings, to be honest there is no significant improvements that you can observe in real world use. the only practical upgrade in a computer that makes a difference is the replacement of hdd with ssd as boot/app/game drive.

  6. #136
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    no, I could not find it in hwinfo. Probably I was thinking that there is no sensor there, like cpu voltage. In any case I think my montherboar is not compatible with 1866L, and probably it is working with 1,5V

  7. #137
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by Konstantin77 View Post
    no, I could not find it in hwinfo. Probably I was thinking that there is no sensor there, like cpu voltage. In any case I think my montherboar is not compatible with 1866L, and probably it is working with 1,5V
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hwinfo_stock_ram_check.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	127.1 KB 
ID:	46213

    the far right number in orange box is the voltage (1.5V). that's weird. can you capture a screen shot of hwinfo64 on your computer?

    for cpu-z, it's something like below:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cpu-z_spd.gif 
Views:	27 
Size:	12.1 KB 
ID:	46214

  8. #138
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    of course I can but there is no point in doing so, because in these tables, all the supported modes are displayed. Thus, my memory that supports 1866 in both 1.35V and 1.5V both are displayed and there is not any clue which is the one that is actually preferred.
    Last edited by Konstantin77; 02-04-2015 at 05:50 PM.

  9. #139
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    here it is:
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos memory.png  


  10. #140
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    ah now i got your meanings. sorry i didn't look closely enough because previously i referred to a set of ram without xmp profiles. this one i am not really sure how to look it up with software. you're right that hwinfo64 and cpu-z only show all supported modes. they never reported the exact mode that the system is currently running at.

    however, my best guess is that the choice depends on the system. if the system supports 1.35V profile, it will pick that and run at 1.35V. if it's not, 1.5V.

Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 4 12 13 14 15 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •