Page 2 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 174
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    58

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    Ok I just use fptw64 and your file .bin?
    Yes! but i copy all file from folder "Flash Programming Tool\Windows64" to local disk D:/ and run "fptw64 -ME -F ME_81101286_X79.bin"/ update succesful! thanks Necrosan
    I7 3930k (C2) @4.5 1.32V/Rapmage 4 Formula/Corsair H80i + MX-4/4x4gb 1866MHz G.SKILL/SLI GTX 780Ti/ OCZ Vertex 3 MI 120gb(win) /OCZ Vertex 3 120gb(games) /2x seagate 7200.11 @ 560 raid0 (strap 128)/Creative Zx/Corsair AX1200w/Silverstone Raven 2 (rv02b-w)/BENQ EW2730/Windows 8.1 x64

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,398

    Yes that's what I did (if it is missing. Dll) and it's OK
    I have not tested the DOS mode (USB key), but it should work as I think

    Thanks necrosan

    Otherwise, it's weird, I can not take screenshot of the bios (USB key), I got a message that the USB does not have enough free space, but it is empty
    Last edited by tistou77; 10-18-2012 at 04:21 PM.
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Techotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    I got a "PDR Region does not exist" message when updating firmware (see attached). Hopefully that's nothing to be concerned about.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Capture.JPG  


  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,398

    Another method

    Fwupdate: DOS or Windows (use the corresponding files)
    MEInfo: To know the version

    https://rapidshare.com/files/281832325/System_Tools.7z

    EDIT: it's same for me, Techotic
    Last edited by tistou77; 10-18-2012 at 05:05 PM.
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    Quote Originally Posted by Techotic View Post
    I got a "PDR Region does not exist" message when updating firmware (see attached). Hopefully that's nothing to be concerned about.
    That region doesn't exist in the .BIN I provided - perfectly normal message. Just means the PDR region remains untouched.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    FOR TINKERERS ONLY - Don't bother with this information unless you are testing things out. And _ALWAYS_ remember to make backups.


    Just tested and you can also update to the latest GBE firmware included in that ME update and it works perfectly fine. (Made for our controller, 82579V)
    I compared the original & the new version to make sure they weren't the same, also. (No sense updating if the same)

    Not sure how to determine the differences as they both just list as version 1.3 in MEInfo application.

    Backup old version first with: fptw64 -GBE -D backupgbe.bin

    To update, move 82579_C0_CPT_B2_VER0PTD4.bin (8kb) to same folder as fptw64 and flash like this:
    fptw64 -GBE -SAVEMAC -F 82579_C0_CPT_B2_VER0PTD4.bin


    Make sure you shutdown after flash as GBE controller won't work until you do
    Last edited by Necrosan; 10-24-2012 at 01:11 PM.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    Also not sure if these are new features to ME 8 firmware, but they sound interesting regardless and are noted in the update PDF:

    • Platform Clocks – Tune Intel® C600 Series Express Chipsets clock silicon to the parameters of a specific board, configure clocks at run time, and power management clocks. Benefit: Allows extensive customizability and soft control of “Third generation” clock solution and makes clocks available before CPU powers up.

    • Silicon Workaround Capability – Intel® ME FW will have limited capabilities to perform targeted workarounds for silicon issues. Benefit: Allows Intel® ME FW to address some issues that otherwise would require a new silicon stepping.

    • Thermal Reporting – Intel® ME FW has the ability to collect platform thermal data and provide that data to embedded controllers and super I/O devices over SMLINK1 as well as in memory map I/O space.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jezjohnson PC Specs
    jezjohnson PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme - 1502
    Processori7-5960x @ 4545 / 1.225v (Offset +0.21)
    Memory (part number)G-Skill 32GB DDR4-2800 @ 2828
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X @ 1500 boost / 7800 mem
    MonitorDell 3008WFP
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB (500GB x 2 RAID0)
    Storage #2Intel 520 240GB (OSX Yosemite)
    CPU CoolerWatercooled EK Supremacy EVO
    CaseCustom Dual Loop - Laing D5 / BlackIce360 / GT1850 on each
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus AC87U

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    186

    All working great here, thanks Necrosan

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,398

    Firmware 8.0 is better for X79?
    if I understood correctly

    It is better to upgrade the GBe too?

    Thanks

    PS: Besides, what's the GBe?
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    Totally up to you. Not sure what the differences are so the call is yours. I am certain however that this is the most recent GBE bin available for our chipset.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


Page 2 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •