Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 174
  1. #21
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Necrosan regarding the GBE, the firmware could be tied to the OpROM in the UEFI. I don't suggest flashing it until I check the OpROM versions.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,396

    Ok thanks Necrosan, I will update to GBe, also
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    Quote Originally Posted by Nodens View Post
    Necrosan regarding the GBE, the firmware could be tied to the OpROM in the UEFI. I don't suggest flashing it until I check the OpROM versions.
    You can always revert it to the original version if that does turn out to be an issue. Let us know what you find out, can't wait to hear.
    I've had none yet, and have uploaded the original version here for anyone that encounters any issues: oldgbe.bin
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  4. #24
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    They're probably unrelated but I gave a warning just in case anyone is seeing any trouble. The ME Interface is probably tied to the GBE firmware for the remote control aspects of ME and GBE firmware could be tied to the GBE OpROM due to Booting from LAN and possible integration with the ME (even so it could pose no issue at all if the GBE OpROM is not loaded). I'll probably have time to do a bit of digging tomorrow and I'll tell you if I find anything.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,396

    Thanks Nodens for your feedback
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    81

    Quote Originally Posted by Necrosan View Post
    Just tested and you can also update to the latest GBE firmware included in that ME update and it works perfectly fine. (Made for our controller, 82579)
    I compared the original & the new version to make sure they weren't the same, also. (No sense updating if the same)

    Not sure how to determine the differences as they both just list as version 1.3 in MEInfo application.

    To update, move 82579_C0_CPT_B2_VER0PTD4.bin (8kb) to same folder as fptw64 and flash like this:
    fptw64 -GBE -F 82579_C0_CPT_B2_VER0PTD4.bin
    (Optionally backup old version first with: fptw64 -GBE -D backupgbe.bin)

    Make sure you shutdown after flash as GBE controller won't work until you do
    Hi,

    WB HEDT 1.5MB FW Bring Up Guide 8.1.10.1286_.pdf (page 13 of 91) says
    "82579_B0_CPT_B1_VER0PTD4.bin Intel® LAN PHY firmware image. This image is for Romley Workstation platforms only."

    Thanks a lot for you work!

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,396

    not useful for us
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    81

    The prosedure upgrating FW is working for p9x79PRO also

    If someone installed driver before FW upgrade (as me) I recomend reinstall the soft, couple new services will appear (btw not nessary ones..)
    Last edited by nikolator; 10-19-2012 at 02:26 AM.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    39

    Ok, guys, as soon as I flashed the GBE (GigaBit Ethernet) the LAN adapter was not working. I tried removing the driver for it, resetting settings, but nothing would help.

    I saw that adapter was sending out packets, but no packets were received (shown 0 packets in adapter properties/status). Looks like it lost ability to receive packets all of a sudden.

    To resolve this I had to flash my previous firmware backup for it.

    So note to everyone: BACKUP YOUR GBE FW before flashing!


    The ME firmware flash, however, was very smooth. Thank you Necroson!

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    60
    Posts
    655

    Been using it for a few hours now, interesting find about Romley platform note.

    Premudriy - You need to shutdown fully after flashing it, as I explained in the post. You clearly did not do that.
    Last edited by Necrosan; 10-19-2012 at 12:16 AM.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •