cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Second Monitor issues with VGA

j0ntar
Level 7
Hello everyone,

i am curious to see if others G75VW users are having scan lines on the second monitor when using the VGA port? I have had this since I received the notebook. This notebook is mainly used for work purposes and a second monitor is absolutely needed for daily work.

The refresh rate is stuck at 60hz on any monitor model I plug in, and i have tried 3 different monitors of different sizes.
8 REPLIES 8

GrecoISU
Level 7
I have not had that issue before on my G75vw.

I have however had the issue on a work machine and with a work laptop (same manufacturer, go figure). On the work machine I was trying to split a mirrored screen from my computer to the projector (I'm a teacher). On the laptop, a netbook, trying to split it more than once (monitor and projector along with lcd screen) gave those lines. I believe what our IT folks said is that there was not enough power going through to send it to that many places. On the PC they installed another card that included another VGA adapter and now it works just fine.

I just tried it with my G75vw here at work and it worked just fine, even on battery, with a hookup to a monitor.

john_from_ohio
Level 11
j0ntar wrote:
Hello everyone,

i am curious to see if others G75VW users are having scan lines on the second monitor when using the VGA port?.

Not at all ... I have a bunch of different ones that get plugged in via VGA and no issues.

Newest one is the beastly auria 27 inch ( microcenter check it out ) running 2560 x 1440 on vga alone ... a flawless external display!

So I will update this with a bit of info for others that run into some problems.