Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 92
  1. #81
    ROG Enthusiast Array Zero Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    Doe's anyone know if the audio chipset on the ASUS Maximus V FORMULA runs 5.1 surrond?

  2. #82
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    760

    For surround sound 5.1 and 7.1 a pci-e sound card should be the best, they are around 100-200 bucks. I'm not sure but I don't think the mvf audio chipset supports 5.1 surround
    Last edited by Krindor; 10-26-2012 at 11:30 PM.
    | Chassi: Phantom Fulltower White Edition | Mobo: Maximus V Extreme | CPU: i7 3770k
    | Memory: 2x8gb G.Skill Trident X 2400mhz | GPU: PNY Geforce GTX 670 | PSU: NZXT Hale 90 750w
    | SSD: Intel 120gb 330 series (OS) | Intel 120gb 330 series (Games n stuff)
    | Monitor: LG 29EA93 | Cooling: Custom Loop

  3. #83
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    SupremeFX IV built-in 7.1-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
    - Output Signal-to-Noise Ratio (A-Weighted): 110 dB
    - Output THD+N at 1kHz: 95 dB
    - TI 6120A2 high fidelity headphone amplifier
    - Supports : Jack-detection, Multi-streaming, Front Panel Jack-retasking
    Audio Feature :
    - SupremeFX Shielding™ Technology
    - ELNA premium audio capacitors
    - 1500 uF Audio Power Capacitor
    - Blu-ray audio layer Content Protection
    - DTS Ultra PC II
    - DTS Connect
    - Optical S/PDIF out port(s) at back panel
    This is from their website.

  4. #84
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    760

    Seems I was wrong..... Sorry
    | Chassi: Phantom Fulltower White Edition | Mobo: Maximus V Extreme | CPU: i7 3770k
    | Memory: 2x8gb G.Skill Trident X 2400mhz | GPU: PNY Geforce GTX 670 | PSU: NZXT Hale 90 750w
    | SSD: Intel 120gb 330 series (OS) | Intel 120gb 330 series (Games n stuff)
    | Monitor: LG 29EA93 | Cooling: Custom Loop

  5. #85
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    its surround on the mini jacks ports.
    i cant get it working on optics ( on the crossair 5 + 3 formula ( amd ) )
    i only get stereo ( in a weird mixed mode )

    try it out whit the onboard first before you buy a soundcard, so you dont spend monney on some thing you dont need.
    Last edited by kkn; 10-27-2012 at 12:10 AM.

  6. #86
    ROG Enthusiast Array Zero Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    So, I'll be able to use my ROCCAT Kave – Solid 5.1 Surround Sound Gaming Headset straight from the mobo?

  7. #87
    ROG Enthusiast Array Zero Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    After giving it some serious thought, I think I'm going to stick with Windows 7 as my OS until Windows 8 has had a good shake down period. I can always upgrade to it once all the bugs are worked out.

  8. #88
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    Quote Originally Posted by Zero Cool View Post
    So, I'll be able to use my ROCCAT Kave – Solid 5.1 Surround Sound Gaming Headset straight from the mobo?
    yes, you get muliple output on the minijacks on the back side, and you stil have the optic out and the front out ( on the cabinet if you have that )

  9. #89
    ROG Enthusiast Array Zero Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    A question about RAM. The Integrated Memory Controller Speed on the Intel Core i5-3570K says it supports dual channel DDR3-1333 and DDR3-1600 memory. Will I be able to run DDR3-1866 on this CPU?

  10. #90
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razorbak86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    58

    Quote Originally Posted by Zero Cool View Post
    After giving it some serious thought, I think I'm going to stick with Windows 7 as my OS until Windows 8 has had a good shake down period. I can always upgrade to it once all the bugs are worked out.
    Personally, I think that is a prudent move. See the quote below from a Windows 8 gaming review posted by Tom's Hardware yesterday.

    Of the 10 games we benchmarked, one one demonstrated a significant difference in moving from Windows 7 to Windows 8, and only on Nvidia's GeForce GTX 660. That game was Borderlands 2, where our average measured frame rate dropped from 86.6 to 81 FPS. But at that speed, the five-frame drop is hardly worth fretting over.

    More bothersome was the compatibility issue we ran into in Sleeping Dogs, which affected Windows 8, but not Windows 7. When we chose the High detail preset, most of the in-game models simply disappeared. Fortunately, that geometry shows up again if you dial down the graphics quality. Hardly a favorable solution, but it's what we have for now.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...e,3331-13.html
    Fortunately, Borderlands 2 and Sleeping Dogs are very old games, and with so few people playing them, hardly anyone will be affected.

    /sarcasm

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •