Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    !!!! Raid 0 !!!!

    I thought I understand the process but either I am missing something or the board is smarter than me. Let me walk you thru
    the process I thought is correct.

    1. In bios make sure that you set the sata to raid mode,
    2. Hit f10
    3. Hit ctrl I (this gets you in to build a raid)
    4. Name your Raid
    5. select what raid you want.(Raid 0)
    6. Also have to select 128kb
    7. Save

    First I know I need two ssd that are the same.
    I know that I have to select the two ssd drives to build the ray.
    Once ray is built you should set the boot option in bios to dvd rom and usb.
    And again save.

    Now when you install OS (win 7 64 bit) you need to load the drivers for the ray.
    This is where I get stuck.

    I should see the ray I built and just have to select it and install the OS on it.


    I can get to the steps right up to getting ready to install OS but either their is no disk to select and ask for the drivers which I put on USB stick but says their are non.

    Now this is the question I wanted to ask when building the ray you are to select the two SSD's But a lot of times the second
    one doesn't show but it says that their around 340 gb well I know I have two 180 gb intel 520 does this MB automaticlly choose them instead of me selecting the two.

    What am I missing here???? Their are so many forums to read but I haven't came across the right one I wish their was one that
    was sticky at the top with some of the other nice sticky.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    91

    Your raid will not show as 2 disks. Just 1
    I didn't install raid but a revo drive. It sounds like a very similar installation. I found I needed to click on the + next to the usb stick then click on the actual file the drivers were in. Otherwise is said there were no drivers (actually I put my drivers onto a cd but same thing)

    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Thx for the help I will have to look to see if that will help any thoughts are welcomed. Usually it is the small easy thing that I over look sometimes.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    No you do not need to load any drivers for a RAID in Win7. Or at least I have yet to.

    If your OS is SP1 then there is no problem.


    And if you go to the front page and use guide as a search term you will see a step by step RAID set up guide.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    24

    Hi 1wickedchild,

    Time to try and give back...I've received fabulous help here and think I may be able to help a little. Please note that I'm a relative NOOB when it comes to this stuff, but I recently had what I believe are similar issues to the ones you're having.

    Quote Originally Posted by 1wickedchild View Post
    --- snip ---

    6. Also have to select 128kb

    --- snip ---
    Not necessarily...but shouldn't be a showstopper. Check this recent thread: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...tions...*sigh*

    Quote Originally Posted by 1wickedchild View Post
    --- snip ---

    I can get to the steps right up to getting ready to install OS but either their is no disk to select and ask for the drivers which I put on USB stick but says their are non.

    --- snip ---
    Your issue seems similar to my own, which I managed to solve with help from the fine folks who hang out here.

    Here's a thread I started on the issues I was having: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...l...any-advice

    Notes:

    1. The thread contains a link to drivers which worked for me.
    2. I plugged the USB stick containing the drivers into the ROG (USB 2) port on the back of my motherboard (RIVF) - I had tried other ports and this one worked.
    3. I unplugged EVERYTHING storage-related except the SSD RAID 0 array.
    4. I loaded Win 7 Professional from CD.

    Cheers,

    FirstFlyte
    Last edited by FirstFlyte; 10-29-2012 at 05:19 PM.
    CPU: i7-3930K @ 3.20 MB: Rampage IV Formula (BIOS: 2105) RAM: 4 x 4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum (2400 OC) GFX: 2 x Gigabyte Geforce GTX 660Ti (2-way SLI) Boot Disk: 2 x 128GB Samsung 830 (RAID 0) Data Disks: WD Velociraptor 1TB, HGST 7K4000 4TB Cooling: Corsair H80 PSU: Corsair AX1200 Case: Corsair 600T (White Edition) Monitor: Dell U2711 O/S: Win 7 Professional SP1

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Repped FirstFlyte - really nice post with heaps of information. Thank you.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Thx you I will check it out.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    151

    Just take the RAID folder from your motherboards support cd's RSTe folder. It asks me the same thing. The required file is iaStorA.inf, just put it on a usb key and load it when it asks it. You may need to browse to the 64/32 bit folder where that file is before it recognizes it.
    Sinebrychof aka Luumi

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array m.oreilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    321

    it's actually the ahci driver win7 is looking for, the F6 driver from your favorite 3 series bundle of drivers will work.
    Asus Rampage IV GENE
    i7 3930k @ 4.8 24/7
    custom loop
    16 gigs Trident X
    HIS HD7970
    2x OCZ Vector 256gb raid0 via UEFI
    Crossover 27Q
    Win8 pro

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Thx guys I will have to try these things out this weekend I'm to busy at work to try now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •