Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Very faint horizontal lines on my G75VW-BBK5

    I started playing a relativley new game (The WarZ) which just came out and is in alpha still. While playing the game during the night cycle, I notice these faint white horizontal lines across my screen, not enough to where it's unplayable, at all, but they're there. After, I started to notice them on webpages, ect. Now im worried, because we own two G75's (My Dad has one, and I have one). I sent mine in, which is a month old, to just get a new one, but with my dads, I want to fix these lines. I've tried new nvidia beta drivers, and older drivers, nothing seems to work. Any ideas? Id really appreciate it, because I've been extremely paranoid now that I've managed to cause both G75's to have these.
    --Zach

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    Check out these threads: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...oss-the-screen and http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...lague-all-BBK5.

    It looks like ASUS is trying to get a handle on the issue, but have been unable to reproduce it in house. PM cl-scott for an update.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 11-05-2012 at 12:51 PM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I'll update this thread when I get home, I'm going to use my Samsung SmartTV as my monitor for now, because it seems like it's an issue between the drivers and refresh rate for the screen. I'm getting a new one Saturday, and I'll see if that one has the same problem.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    Yes, external display is the only way right now. At some point Asus will let this pass, most likely with G76. We are stuck with the problem.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    300

    Quote Originally Posted by c_man View Post
    Yes, external display is the only way right now. At some point Asus will let this pass, most likely with G76. We are stuck with the problem.
    Meaning they'll never take care of it for us? The only reason I chose ASUS was because I thought they were better than this...
    G75VW-BBK5 Windows 8 Pro 1TB HDD, 180GB Corsair Force GT Sata3 SSD, 16GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 660M, Intel i-7 3610-QM 2.3Ghz Turboboost to 3.3Ghz

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    Well, I hope this will work at least 4 years and I will be pleased with it as it is. There was nothing at this price (1k€) for me to have this kind of performance.

  7. #7
    ASUS Reseller Array Shawnnepc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    128
    Posts
    886

    Quote Originally Posted by finalhour View Post
    Meaning they'll never take care of it for us? The only reason I chose ASUS was because I thought they were better than this...
    I imagine once they can reproduce the problem they will be able to fix it.

    It's not a common issue and appears to occur on a number of different configurations

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Well like I said, it's not game breaking or anything, and I was planning on buying a 27" monitor myself. Now with this monitor, how should I connect to it. HDMI? I've had problem with HDMI hookups before, being it wouldn't fit my screen correctly. Any ideas for cheap monitors, that gave me the look this one did before these stupid lines?

    Edit -- Even if I have to, I'll get my $1300 back from this G75 and build myself a desktop, with power. Should I just do that instead?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    300

    Quote Originally Posted by Zach.97 View Post
    Well like I said, it's not game breaking or anything, and I was planning on buying a 27" monitor myself. Now with this monitor, how should I connect to it. HDMI? I've had problem with HDMI hookups before, being it wouldn't fit my screen correctly. Any ideas for cheap monitors, that gave me the look this one did before these stupid lines?

    Edit -- Even if I have to, I'll get my $1300 back from this G75 and build myself a desktop, with power. Should I just do that instead?
    uhhhhh good luck....
    G75VW-BBK5 Windows 8 Pro 1TB HDD, 180GB Corsair Force GT Sata3 SSD, 16GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 660M, Intel i-7 3610-QM 2.3Ghz Turboboost to 3.3Ghz

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Anyone know when this is started?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •