Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    G75 HELP! problem with SSD AND HARD DRIVES!

    so i tried to upgrade my g75vw-ts71 laptop with ssd

    i bought samsung 120gb ssd

    so i put it in as the secondary drive and i reinstalled using recovery disk

    but what do you know!

    it did recovery on the original hard drive!!

    dumb me so i take out hdd and put the ssd in its place and leave out hdd until i finish my OS install

    but then after it finishes loading the files from the recovery disks

    when it restarts, it says a disk error has occurred press ctrl alt del to restart

    and it keep goes on a loop

    so i buy another new ssd(intel 520 120gb) and take out samsung ssd

    put the intel ssd in its place and do the recovery again

    after it load the files from the recvoery disks again it says the same words!

    a disk error has occurred!

    so i was like wtf and i take out ssd put in the original hdd in the primary drive

    and the effin laptop wont boot!

    it says select a proper boot device!

    so i go to bios and see that my hard drive wont recognize it self in the boot tab

    while it shows itself in the sata configuration tab

    so i called asus and sent the hard drive to get it replaced

    but then now i start to think that maybe its my motherboard or something that is defective or broken...

    any computer savvy pros want to help the poor comp nub?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    Could you please help to upgrade the G75VM latest bios and test again?

    bios file download link: (version221)
    http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...G75VWAS221.zip

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    try these and see how it goes:

    1. if you insisted on having the stock installation:
    - find a computer and convert the new ssd into GPT disk; pull out the hdd and then put in the new ssd; use the recovery disks to start the restore process.

    2. if you wished to have a fresh windows install:
    a) if you want a UEFI install, find a computer and convert the ssd into GPT disk; pull out the hdd, and replace it with the converted new ssd, use a windows install disk or usb stick and continue.

    b) if you want a BIOS install, pull out the hdd, and replace it with the new ssd, use a windows install disk or usb stick and continue.

    if everything is up, shut the laptop down and put in your hdd into the secondary bay.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    43

    I dont think he will get this prosse to work. not with a 120gb disc. Stock install is bigger (in the way it is spread out on a bigger area on the disc that is unmovable)
    this will make the image larger then 120gb (i`we tryed several times myself)
    So endeed up makin a fresh install. and this take less time. gives a better result and has no problems
    So i would deff recomend a fresh install
    have linked a "how to" earlier
    good luck
    Asus G75VW-T1031V
    Intel Core i7-3610QM
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 670M
    8 GB 1600mhz
    HDD#1 -> SSD OCZ Agility3 240gb
    HDD#2 -> 750gb HDD 7200rpm
    HDD#3 -> 320gb WD 5200rpm (external drive mounted on back of screen with ducktape! NOT )

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    oh ok, i am not aware of the limit issue due to disk size. previously i helped a friend to do the factory restore and it worked on a 240gb ssd :/

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •