Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    20

    Graphics Card Issue

    Hello.
    When I built my Rig from scratch(about a 3 weeks ago) I used my old GTX 550ti as the graphics card for the time being, it had no problems, other than being old hardware.
    Now, I went out and bought an ASUS GeForce GTX 660 TI yesterday, to finish off my rig, so everything is new and up to date.
    It's made an immense improvement on my FPS since I have installed it, but I have one little issue that I can seem to resolve.
    When I play games, when its dark enough in game, I can see grey horizontal lines appearing all over the screen, similar to an old TV with semi-bad reception. Its not impossible to play, but its very irritating.
    This only seems to happen in some games. Blizzard games for example, WoW and Diablo 3, this doesn't happen at all, but for other games such as War Z, Xcom: Enemy Unknown, Dishonored and CS:GO, it does.
    I've played around with settings in game and it doesn't seem to change it too much. In War Z I change the settings to Low and it seems to dull the Flickering a little, but its still noticeably there.
    I've also played around with the nVidia settings and the refresh rate and all that but it still doesn't seem to want to go away.
    I believe my monitors refresh rate is 60hz, but i'm not certain about that.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you


    Operating System
    MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    i7 Intel Processor @ 3.40GHz
    RAM
    16.0GB
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z77X-D3H (Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz)
    Graphics
    E2351 @ 1920x1080
    ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Hard Drives
    977GB Seagate ST1000DM003-1CH162 (IDE)
    977GB Seagate ST31000528AS (IDE) 28 °C
    Optical Drives
    ASUS DRW-24B3ST
    Audio
    High Definition Audio Device

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Welcome to the ROG boards, Nomaad!

    Just a couple of questions.

    What PSU are you using?

    Did you uninstall your previous Nvidia Driver?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    20

    Hey Chino, thanks.
    My PSU is the Corsair HX-1050 V2 80 PLUS
    I didnt uninstall the the old drivers for the gtx550 TI, just assumed they were deleted once new drivers were installed, or overwritten.
    Thank you for the reply

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    20

    I'm also using a RGB cable, would I benefit from using a HDMI cable?

  5. #5
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    RGB = not good cable at all.
    go whit DVI or HDMI if your monitor have that connection option.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,645

    Hi there! What monitor do you have....what resolution is your monitor and which cable are you using to connect the new card....DVI? RGB I don't recognise is this via an adapter of some sort. Same cable and monitor that work with the 550 right?

    Are you running PCIe 3.0 in BIOS or enabled in OS?

  7. #7
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    RGB is the old monitor type connector.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    20

    Hey kkn, thanks for the info, I can use an HDMI cable so I'll go out tomorrow and purchase one of those.

    To Arne Saknussemm, my monitor is a LG E2251T 21.5in Widescreen LED, as above, im using an old RGB cord with a DVI adapter to connect the two together. The graphics card is in the PCI 3.0 slot, just assumed it would work alone being there, do i have to enable it somehow?

    Thank you for all your replys

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,645

    The BIOS will have PCIe 3.0 enabled by default but the card will not run at 3.0 unless you do the "Hack" http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...light=pcie+3.0

    Sometimes changing PCIe 3.0 to 2.0 in BIOS eliminates problems but I reckon your adapter cable combo is the problem here. HDMI will be much better. Or DVI or display port...if you monitor supports them try one of those.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    20

    Alright i'll go get this cable tomorrow and see if it makes a difference. The old card didnt need the adapter either so i can see how it might be a problem.
    Should iI uninstall old drivers like Chico said?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •