Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 79
  1. #61
    ROG Enthusiast Array RamGuy PC Specs
    RamGuy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 13-inch retina with touch bar 2016
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Apex @ 1003
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K @ 4.9GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4266MHz 2x 8GiB (F4-4266C19D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
    Sound CardHegel HD12 External DAC
    MonitorAsus RoG PG348Q + Asus RoG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo NVMe 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass Black
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 1200W (SS-1200XP3)
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB RapidFire Cherry MX Speed
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Sennheiser HD 800
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro (1709 Fall Creators Update)
    Network RouterGoogle WiFi with 3x nodes (Previously Asus RT-AC5300)
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Controller + Wireless Adapter
    Accessory #2 Zowie Mouse Bungie
    Accessory #3 TPM-Module (Trusted Platform Module)
    RamGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    I'm starting to give up on this motherboard.. My first one never worked at all, second one worked for about 1,5 months, and the third one has been going strong until this day but today I had to disable my Creative Titanium HD PCI-Express audio card as I have moved to a dual-boot of Mac OS X Mountain Lion ("Hackintosh") and Windows 8 UEFI installation..

    As my Creative Titanium HD card is not supported under OS X and there is no way to hack it I decided to just move everything to the on-board audio as that should be much easier, but no.. It's not working under Windows 8, nor is it working under OS X. It's only outputting static noise and nothing else what so ever... The optical output works though, so I might grab a Asus Xonar Essence One and connect by optical, but that's a irritating an expensive solution for something that should have worked from the start..



    I just can't be bothered with another replacement, I haven't had this much issues with a motherboard in my entire lifetime and it makes me really re-consider whether it's worth it to pay extra for these Asus motherboards anymore.. I have always supported Asus due their steady releases of new BIOS updates but this is getting rather silly.

  2. #62
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Motherboards aren't designed to be used with MAC OSX. No one actually uses high end PC components for a subpar, useless operating system.

    It's like trying to use a can opener to open a pop top can. It's useless. The can is already , ready to be opened. (Windows and PCs)

  3. #63
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    24

    I unfortunately seem to have the same issue. Audio shows digital only, it clicks on boot-up and driver install, but no amount of fidling seems to cause it to recognize. I've tried Windows 7/8. Various BIOS versions. Unplugging/Re-seating Cables.

    The exact same night it started my GTX 780 started to be being identified as a DEV_100F instead of a DEV_1004 around the exact same time (which is not a valid nVidia Card). Not sure if just coincidence or something on the MB failing, at first I thought it was the Video Card now i'm starting to suspect otherwise.

    I suppose my best bet is to get an RMA going and swap out the motherboard? Sigh

  4. #64
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Resurrecting this thread too today.....another RIVE same problem!!! Audio had died from a bit of OCing.

    For a premium OCing board this is a bit much. This one the PCIe lane has died too and an SSD has been taken out.


  5. #65
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Arne, maybe have that PSU of yours checked..
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  6. #66
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    227

    I have had this issue for a while now. I even RMA'd my mobo and they sent back my same one with same problems.. bought it over a year ago now so I am SOL, I rma'd when I had a month left unfortunately...
    My only audio is through my Nvidia HDMI


    Thats probably why I went with ASRock for my dad's z87 build
    RIVE C1 3930K @ 4.8 3 ASUS GTX 680 DC2T 250gbSamsung 840 TLC SSD dimastech hardv2.5
    H100 w/ 4 push pull Bgear b-blaster 120 16gb 2x f3-2400c9d-8GTXD 9-11-11-31 1t 2475mhz 2tb seagate Antec 1200watt continuous PSU Minuteman 750va commercial UPS LG super multi drive Memorex bluray Samsung Syncmaster T27B750 46" Sharp aquos. killer 2100, soon to be installled: DT sniper dc2 waterblocks, etc

  7. #67
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Quote Originally Posted by Nodens View Post
    Arne, maybe have that PSU of yours checked..
    I am....by a techie with all the right gear....will let you know...

  8. #68
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array darkage PC Specs
    darkage PC Specs
    MotherboardApex IX
    Processor???? K
    Memory (part number)TEAMGROUP-UD4-3200@4133C19
    Graphics Card #1STRIX R9 FURY
    MonitorMX279
    Storage #1960 EVO 250
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseDIMASTECH 2.5 Easy
    Power SupplyHCP 850W
    Mouse ROG GLADIUS
    Mouse Pad Glorious
    OS 10 64 PRO
    darkage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    299

    +1 HERE
    only hdmi áudio, havent send to rma because will take ages (store in another part of the country,etc) as asus here does not want to make a direct rma, dont know why

  9. #69
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    31

    Hello all..

    Try resetting the BIOS to factory defaults, reboot, that may bring your onboard sound back.

    I've read this post and have some input as to the sound issue... I have a Creative ZXR installed in the 1X PCIE slot (it will not matter which slot the card is installed, as I'll explain further). By default (that is all default BIOS settings) the card woks flawlessly, both soft boot and hard boot. When I began overclocking the RIVE that's when I started experiencing similar issues as described in prior posts. The Card sends out a "hiss" to my monitors with no sound or playback device in Windows, regardless which slot the card is installed in. The more aggressive the overclocking the more sound card issues. At times, I can soft boot and work around this, but this is unacceptable to me.. Now, if I reduce both boot-up voltages to Auto, this definitively improves sound card stability along with looser or less aggressive DRAM timings. Unfortunately, we may all find that in order to keep our sound cards functional and stable, we may need to use less aggressive overclocking. This is frustrating to me because I may never hit the sweet spots of this board as long as I have a sound card installed. Another hindrance...

    Best regards.

  10. #70
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    31

    All,

    BTW, if you set the BIOS back to default to attempt to restore sound, shut the power down at the power supply and I also unplug for at least 5 Min. (10 min. ideally) before powering back up. That may restore your sound device.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •