Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 79
  1. #11
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Could you guys try booting a Linux livecd and see if you still don't get any sound? (Want to rule out Windows/Drivers). If that is the case then you should RMA your boards.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    i recently had to rma a board due to this. i thought this was a known issue with this board.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Not sure mate, mine's onboard sound is still working great.. I've read some threads about people with on board sound issues but if I remember right most of them were driver or cable related..
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array flaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Hi all,

    Now that i use Xonar Phoebus and having no sound problem at all make me curious about this problem.
    Maybe it have something to do with the power supply used? My ax850 seems dont have enough power socket to plugging in all the power plug in the RIVE motherboard. Since i'm planning to go crossfire with my matrix 7970 i will change my power supply to ax1200i or ax860i and see if this ridiculous onboard sound problem still exist.
    Kinda agree with Nodens said about RMA-ing the board, so far in my experience i only RMA-ing something if it dont work at all, so if it just only sound problem there's must be something wrong with our setup.

    Ordering new psu now and let see how things work, wish me luck guys
    RIVE-3930K-MATRIX7970-PHOEBUS-FORCEGT120G-DOMINATORGT16G-H100-AX850-600T-PB278Q

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array InnervateD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    205

    When I first built my computer almost a year ago. I had a weird issue with the jack sensing with the drivers off the site. I installed only the original driver for the onboard audio off the CD and I found those drivers to be the most stable. Been using that ever since. Try using those.

  6. #16
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Nodens View Post
    Could you guys try booting a Linux livecd and see if you still don't get any sound? (Want to rule out Windows/Drivers). If that is the case then you should RMA your boards...
    Been away myself a couple weeks. Can you give a link to a livecd distro that contains basic drivers for our boards that you can confirm are working?
    Last edited by gloves085; 01-04-2013 at 03:11 PM. Reason: Mis-quote

  7. #17
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    I can't boot one right now to test because I can't afford downtime (working) but latest Fedora and Ubuntu should support it out of the box. If you have trouble booting those on the RIVE for some reason try adding acpi=off to the kernel parameters on boot.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array InnervateD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    205

    Quote Originally Posted by flaz View Post
    Hi all,

    Now that i use Xonar Phoebus and having no sound problem at all make me curious about this problem.
    Maybe it have something to do with the power supply used? My ax850 seems dont have enough power socket to plugging in all the power plug in the RIVE motherboard. Since i'm planning to go crossfire with my matrix 7970 i will change my power supply to ax1200i or ax860i and see if this ridiculous onboard sound problem still exist.
    Kinda agree with Nodens said about RMA-ing the board, so far in my experience i only RMA-ing something if it dont work at all, so if it just only sound problem there's must be something wrong with our setup.

    Ordering new psu now and let see how things work, wish me luck guys
    Wait wait...
    You're telling me you're running 11xHDDs a 7970 graphics card and you're only running with a 850watt PSU?

    I just plugged in the specs above to the following:
    http://support.asus.com/powersupply.aspx

    And it recommends at least a 1000watt PSU, you sir need a larger PSU. You're probably looking at 1500 watts with a Crossfire config based on the calculator.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    on board audio stopped working about 6 weeks ago. my friend gave me a creative recon 3d sound card, so I didn't RMA my RIVE. 1 week ago, system wouldn't post, froze at 00 code. MB sent to RMA the next day, should be back tomorrow.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi Guys, after a long PC build due to work I now have 3way sli and no sound card due to space, So I went to enable the onboard but all I get is fuzz grrrrrrr lol looks like nobody can find a fix? im on Win8 but will try win7 later, no chance am I going to RMA as its to much effort looks like I will need a usb headset for now

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •