cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Horrible WiFI performance

cbpagent72
Level 7
I have owned my G75VW since mid July and my only complaint besides the crappy speakers is the pathetic WiFI performance. I have had really slow wifi transfer and speed rates since day one of ownership. I build my own computers and I am a computer forensics agent with the federal government so I am not a inexperienced user. I started out with a Linksys Ea4200 dual band router and have since upgraded to a Netgear R6300 wireless AC dual band router. I have ran Windows 7 with stock ASUS WiFI drivers and recently upgraded to Windows 8 using stock ASUS Windows 8 WiFI drivers. With all of these changes the WiFI has remained consistently slow. The download speeds I get are half off what I get on my android phones and tablets. My file transfer speeds to my Qnap TS-269 pro NAS are approximately 1 to 2 megabytes per second, that is pathetic. I am never more than 25 feet away from the router and I have standard drywall walls. Is anyone experiencing these issues and have you fixed them?

Sent from my Sprint Galaxy Note 2
12 REPLIES 12

Apexing
Level 9
well first, does your phone and tablet connect to the 5ghz, im assuming its 2.4 and 5ghz wifi you have since its dual band?
since laptop can only connect to the 2.4ghz. Tried different chanels ? some might be very busy, test it with an android app to see what chanels are being used around you. How was you wifi prior to update, did you do clean install or just upgrade?

Apexing wrote:
well first, does your phone and tablet connect to the 5ghz, im assuming its 2.4 and 5ghz wifi you have since its dual band?
since laptop can only connect to the 2.4ghz. Tried different chanels ? some might be very busy, test it with an android app to see what chanels are being used around you. How was you wifi prior to update, did you do clean install or just upgrade?