cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Right PSU for Rampage III Black Edition

Z3roSix
Level 7
I have ordered the rampage II black edition , i read somewhere it has 2 8pin connectors for cpu , is that correct? i have a coolermaster 850w and it has only 2 4bin connectors
im planning on having:

Core i7 Extreme
12 Gb ram
2x Asus 3870x2 Crossfire
1 SSD and 4 HDDs
a DVD drive and the Corsair H70 for cpu cooling

will i be ok or do i need new psu?.

Thanks 😄

P.S All on Stock clock , i don't intend to do any O/C until warranty expires 🙂
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Humans TOP 3 best friends:

1.Dogs
2.Google Search
3.Zip Tie
8 REPLIES 8

Raja
Level 13
That PSU is fine. The extra 8 pin connector is for extreme overclocking only when the CPU starts to draw a lot of current.

-Raja

Thanks a lot 🙂
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

1.Dogs
2.Google Search
3.Zip Tie

Retired
Not applicable
I agree that power supply is just fine

Z3roSix
Level 7
Hello guys its being a while ive made a post.

I finally got money to finish my system, but i would like to ask something abour power cosumption.

Intel 980x
Rampage 3 BE
Corsair dominator 12gb (6x2)
OCZ Revo drive
Corsair H100
Asus 6990
Asus Thunderbolt
4 sata hdd (optional)
6x120mm fan

This is my system, will it run on my existing 850w psu? and if not what i need to "cut" to work? cause if change my psu i must change my UPS and then thats almost 700$ up which i wont have for a while :P.

Thanks in advance.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

1.Dogs
2.Google Search
3.Zip Tie

Noein
Level 7
why you aren`t investing money into sandy bridge ?
anyway check how much volage needs your gfx + cpu I got 4 hhds +gtx 560ti and i7 950 oced running on 750 W gold psu and all works fine. There are online PSU W calculators just write it in uncle google ;]

Z3roSix
Level 7
Well i already tried that but i don't know some things such as how much power do i lose since my psu is over 2 years old. I will probably barly make it :P, ill just cut some of the old hdds :D.