Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    56

    Help: un detected recovery partition on Asus G75VX-T4020H

    hi all

    I have just received my Asus G75VX-T4020H and I tried to burn recovery DVD but it gives me the error that the recovery partition is deleted, but I looked in device manager and there are three hidden recovery partition,Recovery,Restore and Efi.
    how can I burn the recovery dvds.
    thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    56

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	141623d.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	149.2 KB 
ID:	14740Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1e6yyu.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	137.2 KB 
ID:	14741
    Last edited by samozen; 12-09-2012 at 12:39 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    unfortunately, from the user feedback, there's no official way from ASUS to create the recovery DVD set.

    from the images shown, there is indeed a partition called 'Restore' that i suspect is the ASUS's restore partition that houses the restore image.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    56

    thanks for replay
    is there a way to make a recovery partition on what exist on these recovery partitionClick image for larger version. 

Name:	h.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	309.4 KB 
ID:	14744Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hhh.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	335.0 KB 
ID:	14745Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hhhh.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	329.1 KB 
ID:	14746

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    uh? you can access the restore partition?! i think that install.wim can be used to restore your windows. but i'm just not very sure if it worked.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    56

    can you tell me how to do that. indeed I can access the recovery partition but how to restore the system from install.wim ?
    thanks

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    maybe i wasn't clear enough about the things i said.

    what i was thinking just now was simple: i assume that if you do not change your partition layout, and you just formated your current c:; maybe you could boot using winpe, and then use imagex /apply to dump the install.wim into the formatted c:

    however, i don't think it's that simple, samozen.

    edit: w8 uses dism instead, because imagex is depreciated. well, if you need to know more about this, you can check it out here. i understand you need a simple answer. that i cannot give you :/
    Last edited by rewben; 12-09-2012 at 06:08 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    The Recovery partition is 600Mb, it's like a simple version of MSDART ('boots in recovery or troubleshooting mode like Windows Recovery Cd)
    The Restore partition contains the Original OS (install.wim), but I 'm not sure if you simply apply the .wim it will the job!

    And if your system came with Windows 8, AI recovery doesn't work I think!
    Last edited by greypigeon; 12-09-2012 at 08:48 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    56

    yes it came with windows 8. is there a dism tool to do a clean install of the install.wim like imagex in sony?
    thanks

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by samozen View Post
    yes it came with windows 8. is there a dism tool to do a clean install of the install.wim like imagex in sony?
    thanks
    You can!
    In cmd (run as Administrator) just enter dism.

    dism /Apply-Image /ImageFile: "path to the install.wim" /Index:1 /ApplyDir:C:\

    PATH TO INSTALL.WIM like f:\install.wim (no quotes)

    BTW:
    You can create your own image as backup from cmd in Windows 8

    Check this

    like: recimg /CreateImage M:\RefreshImage
    Last edited by greypigeon; 12-10-2012 at 08:38 AM.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •