Page 23 of 95 FirstFirst ... 13 21 22 23 24 25 33 73 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 230 of 950
  1. #221
    ROG Enthusiast Array Fernando 1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by Jericho View Post
    I was wondering what exactly was done with the RIVE bios to make TRIM work? I've read all the posts but don't really understand I guess. Just wondering how intrusive the modification was and how much of it had to be changed? TIA.
    The TRIM support for X79 chipset systems has been already implemented by Intel into the original Intel RAID ROM module v11.6.0.17012. Nevertheless the untouched RAID ROMs v11.x.x.xxxx cannot be used with X79 systems, because their RAID Controllers have the DeviceID 2826, whereas the original RAID ROM hex code entries just allow the use with Controller Device IDs 2822 or 282a.
    At least Nodens got the v11 ROM compatible with X79 chipset RAID systems by replacing the hex code DeviceID entries by the correct X79 Controller ones. Only 8 hex code pairs have been changed.

  2. #222
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    151

    Quote Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
    As first step you should run the Windows Experience Index (Win7/Win8). If you should use Windows 8, it is a good idea to run the Optimizer as second step.
    After having done all that, you can do the TRIM test.
    If the related section doesn't have zeroed out within 1-2 minutes after having deleted the file and emptied the Recycle Bin, you should reboot, run the hex editor and look into the related section again.
    This is what I do, before I start any benchmark tool:
    1. "Control Panel" > "Power Plans" > "High Performance"
    2. "Device Manager" > "Disks" > right click onto "Intel RAID0 Volume" RAID Device" > "Properties" > tab "Policies" > check both options
    3. "Intel(R) Rapid Storage" Console Software > "Administration" > "Enhanced" > set "Write Back Cache" to "enabled".
    4. Reboot
    I tried what you suggested, but those didn't improve my speeds at all.
    Sinebrychof aka Luumi

  3. #223
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    I plan on Installing Win 8 Pro on a new array after the modded flash. Should I install all windows updates before force installing the 11.7 driver and Intel MEI driver? I don't want it overwritten.
    Last edited by Jericho; 01-31-2013 at 06:55 PM.
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    Bios 3404 Nodens
    i7 3930K @ 4.4 ghz
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 gb 1866 8x8gb
    2x EVGA GTX 680 Classified 4 gb SLI
    2x Intel 520 240 gb RAID 0 TRIMMED
    2x Velociraptor 300 gb RAID 0
    Swiftech H220 CPU Cooler
    Coolermaster HAF X Case
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Dell U3011 30 in. Monitor
    Win 8 Pro x64

  4. #224
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    Thank you Nodens! I did the flashback with your bios and it is working great. I created my array and installed Win 8 Pro x64 and followed your instructions. Now TRIM is successfully passing to my drives. Tested with Winhex. Max read and writes are over 1000. + rep for you!
    Last edited by Jericho; 02-02-2013 at 04:34 PM.
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    Bios 3404 Nodens
    i7 3930K @ 4.4 ghz
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 gb 1866 8x8gb
    2x EVGA GTX 680 Classified 4 gb SLI
    2x Intel 520 240 gb RAID 0 TRIMMED
    2x Velociraptor 300 gb RAID 0
    Swiftech H220 CPU Cooler
    Coolermaster HAF X Case
    Corsair AX1200i PSU
    Dell U3011 30 in. Monitor
    Win 8 Pro x64

  5. #225
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I'm having trouble using the USB Flashback method on my Rampage IV Formula. When I hold in the button to flash the BIOS nothing happens. I can hold it in for 30 seconds & it never flashes.

    I can see the BIOS on the memory stick when I go into the EZ Flash Utility so I'm guessing the memory stick is compatible (I've tried 4 different ones & they're all the same). I can also see that the file is named correctly & it is recognised as a bios file. The button light works when I press the button normally (for ROG connect).

    I've tried Googling the issue but all I come up with is other problems. Nothing the same as this. What am I doing wrong? I have a second SSD sat here that I want to use in RAID 0 but I've been waiting to install it until I can use TRIM!

    HELP!

  6. #226
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Snakeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    276

    Quote Originally Posted by Nuwidol View Post
    I have a second SSD sat here that I want to use in RAID 0 but I've been waiting to install it until I can use TRIM!

    HELP!
    Having trim is definitely valuable. Many thanks to Noden's. However, if your SSD brand has decent GC and you do not intend to load and maintain your Raid 0 capacity above 60%, you will see little performance difference with or without trim. Even with fairly intensive write/delete activity most of the top end SSDs would have enough capacity to maintain clean nand through their garbage collection. This doesn't help your problem, but the lack of trim should not prevent you from getting the speed advantages of 2 SSDs in raid zero. Best of luck.
    NAME THE SANDWICH: – White Bread, Lots of Baloney, Russian dressing and served with a small pickle.?


    Intel Core i7 8700K @5.1 Stable Delidded
    Asus Maximus X Code

    16 GB
    G skill TridentZ DDR4 ​4266 (PC4 34100)
    Corsair HX1000i digital
    EVGA 1070 GTX TiSuperclocked+
    Samsung NVMe SSD 960 pro M. 2
    Samsung 860 Pro
    Watercooled with EK block radiator fans etc.


  7. #227
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by Nuwidol View Post
    I'm having trouble using the USB Flashback method on my Rampage IV Formula. When I hold in the button to flash the BIOS nothing happens. I can hold it in for 30 seconds & it never flashes.

    I can see the BIOS on the memory stick when I go into the EZ Flash Utility so I'm guessing the memory stick is compatible (I've tried 4 different ones & they're all the same). I can also see that the file is named correctly & it is recognised as a bios file. The button light works when I press the button normally (for ROG connect).

    I've tried Googling the issue but all I come up with is other problems. Nothing the same as this. What am I doing wrong? I have a second SSD sat here that I want to use in RAID 0 but I've been waiting to install it until I can use TRIM!

    HELP!
    Is your thumb drive formatted fat? I've had issues with a certain thumb drive not working for bios flashback... but it works for everything else.. i assume it's just a compatibility issue.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  8. #228
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    87
    Posts
    1,466

    Nuwidol welcome to the ROG forums.
    What is your old BIOS ver? And you are trying to update to 3301 or 3404? YOu need to do the BIOS Cap conversion if you are presently BIOS 1404 or older - see the sticky.
    Last edited by HalloweenWeed; 02-03-2013 at 04:08 PM.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  9. #229
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array m.oreilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    321

    ...and formatting the flash drive fat32 prior to inserting the cap file root
    Asus Rampage IV GENE
    i7 3930k @ 4.8 24/7
    custom loop
    16 gigs Trident X
    HIS HD7970
    2x OCZ Vector 256gb raid0 via UEFI
    Crossover 27Q
    Win8 pro

  10. #230
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Thank you so much Nodens.

    But I got a problem.
    I tried to install the RST software (not the F6 driver), but it said "This computer does not meet the minimum requirement for installing the software", why is that? Or should I just install the RSTe software?

    Please show me the way, thank you!!!
    MB - Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU - I7 3930K
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance 8GB X 4 (1600Mhz)
    SSD- Plextor M5P 128GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    Graphic - Inno 3D GTX 590
    HD - WD Caviar Green 1.5TB
    PS - SilverStone 1000W
    CASE - HAF-X
    Cooling - H100
    Sound Card - Asus Xonar Phoebus

Page 23 of 95 FirstFirst ... 13 21 22 23 24 25 33 73 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •