Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Hartacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    194

    Do I only have to worry about temp when increasing vcore?

    I have a custom loop with fx8305. I'm at 4.9ghz with 1.49 vcore. With my custom loop during prime 95 im at like 50C. Does it matter what I raise the vcore to if under 70C?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array DooRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    416

    Obviously temps are very important, you seem to have them in check.

    The Vc will of course over time degrade the chip, how much, well really only one way to be sure isn't there. At 1.49 you are getting up there for 24/7 use imho. Having said that I have no experience with AMD chips.
    7980XE on Asus ApexVI
    Zotac 2080Ti
    Intel 900P
    2 x Samsung 950 Pro
    EVGA 1600W
    Alienware 34"
    Samsung 28" 4K

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Hartacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    194

    Thank you for your response. Now lets just say as a hypothetical question. I'm overclocking and I'm increasing my vcore. What other variables do I look at to make sure everything is safe and I don't fry anything?


    Remember, the only other variables affected by increasing vcore. No need to talk about anything else.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    760

    Only temperature but it will also degrade over time, that's the effects of overclocking. The limit between degradation and vcore isn't set but when you pass it there is a chance that you CPU will require a lot more vcore later on to get the same Clock, meaning higher temperature.
    | Chassi: Phantom Fulltower White Edition | Mobo: Maximus V Extreme | CPU: i7 3770k
    | Memory: 2x8gb G.Skill Trident X 2400mhz | GPU: PNY Geforce GTX 670 | PSU: NZXT Hale 90 750w
    | SSD: Intel 120gb 330 series (OS) | Intel 120gb 330 series (Games n stuff)
    | Monitor: LG 29EA93 | Cooling: Custom Loop

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Hartacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    194

    Thank you. I just wanted to verify. I will now go use my $600 cooling system and juice the living hell out of my cpu trying to keep the temps under 70C. Hopefully it's lifespan lasts longer than a week at 2.4V.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The AMD cpu's have a much lower ceiling with regard to temps. Please do not exceed the official levels. Consult the AMD product page for the temp range.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array oldbrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    240

    The accepted Vcore limit for the FX processors is in the 1.55v to 1.57v range anything higher and you will stand a very good chance of running into trace degradation.
    The AMD recommended temp cap for the FX CPU's is 60c. If you have the cooling system that you say you do then you should have no problem keeping the temps well below the 60c mark. If you do run temps in the 70c range then you have a problem with your cooling system !
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my TechnoTeepee
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.5 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    4.9ghz with 1.49 vcore seem a little bit to low on vcore.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Hartacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    194

    It did require more than 1.5 but when I increased the LLC I was able to drop the v core. Seems like I cant get the magical 5.0ghz though. When I was using 1.54 volts I got prime 95 to run but my last 4 cores would shut down. I guess I'm pretty happy with where I'm at. My idle temps are at 39-41C.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •