Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Thinking about Upgrading

    Thinking about upgrading from my Maximus IV Extreme Rev 3.
    EDIT: Upgrade to the Maximus V Formula mother board.

    Mostly for more PCIE bandwidth. But I have concerns about what I'm planning to install.

    I would like to run 2xGTX670 (2lot cards)

    I would like to run a Quad port Intel NIC (PCIE 2.0x4)

    I would like to run PCIE 1x sound card.

    Will this fit physically onto the board?

    Will each device get enough native bandwidth?

    Thanks for your help!
    Last edited by SeeThruHead; 12-24-2012 at 05:55 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Really, no one can chime in on how PCIE bandwidth is allocated to each slot?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    You will need to use the X79 (LGA 2011 socket) the Z77 or Ivy processors only have 16 lanes for PCIe. The X79 has 40.

    And I suspect the reason you did not get a reply was cos I was on a train and had no signal. On me holidays I am.

    The issue is not about slots at all. The issue is about the total number of lanes available, and since Intel has place the PCIe control on die it is CPU dependent and has very little to do with motherboards.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    X79 is outside of my budget range. The board I have been looking at is the Maximus V formula. A less expensive board than what I have but newer and supporting PCIE3.0

    My requirements are 8 lanes of PCIE 3.0 for each video card. This is standard in the z77 chipset.

    a total of 5 lanes of PCIE 2.0 for sound card and NIC. This should also be handled by z77 chipset as it has 8 PCIE 2.0 slots in addition to the PCIE 3.0 slots.

    So I know z77 can handle the bandwidth of my devices I just need a board that has the physical slots for it.

    Another thing to consider is that onboard controllers such as the ASMEDIA USB3.0 and SATA 6g are also tied into the PCIE lanes provided (In the case of the Maximus V Formula I'm not quite sure how, through the PLX chip?)

    Regardless, I will not be using the ASMEDIA controllers whatsoever. They will be disabled either in the bios (if possible) or the OS.

    So i know z77 has enough lanes, and the Maximus V Formula has enough physical slots. So why would I need to go to x79?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Quote Originally Posted by SeeThruHead View Post
    a total of 5 lanes of PCIE 2.0 for sound card and NIC. This should also be handled by z77 chipset as it has 8 PCIE 2.0 slots in addition to the PCIE 3.0 slots.

    the Z77 chipset as PCI-E 2.0 and 3.0 Slots ? I tough the slots was on the motherboard ?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Z77-blockdiagram_450x408.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	142.7 KB 
ID:	15353
    8 PCIE provided by the z77 chipset
    16 PCIE 3.0 Provided by the CPU

  7. #7
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    Looks straight forward to me .. unless I am missing something ..
    1slot=16
    2 slots=8 and 8
    3slots=8 and 4 and 4
    am I misreading this ???
    Welcome to ROG

    Viz .. Happy Holiday .. [singing] .. Happy Holiday ....
    [ put the tabby/pad in ur bag and forget you have it .. enjoy.relax.recharge.c.]
    Last edited by chrsplmr; 12-24-2012 at 04:33 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Seems the be anything but straight forward.

    What lanes are routed where?

    Why is there a PLX8747 chip on the board if it only does a total of 16xPCIE 3.0.

    Is the PLX chip what serves connectivity the the ASMEDIA controllers?
    Are the PCIE 2.0 lanes coming straight from the z77 chipset?

    The PCIE lanes on this board are rather complicated.

  9. #9
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    My apologies .. I was looking at the pic .. without the OP in mind .. in that, I am afraid I am clueless ..
    complicated ... yes, indeed is the word.c.

    Post#3
    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    You will need to use the X79 (LGA 2011 socket) the Z77 or Ivy processors only have 16 lanes for PCIe. The X79 has 40.

    And I suspect the reason you did not get a reply was cos I was on a train and had no signal. On me holidays I am.

    The issue is not about slots at all. The issue is about the total number of lanes available, and since Intel has place the PCIe control on die it is CPU dependent and has very little to do with motherboards.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Right well, I know the difference between x79 and z77. That being said, according to Intels z77 spec diagram, there is more than enough PCIE connectivity for what I'm trying to do. Factor in that there is also a PLX chip on the Maximus V Formula and the board starts to look overkill for the application. But it has the best PCIE slot layout I've seen on an ROG board. I just need to make sure that the slots that are going to be used.

    From the Manual:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	maximus.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	44.6 KB 
ID:	15354
    Slot 1: Quad Port Intel NIC
    Slot 2: GTX 670
    Slot 3: Covered by 670
    Slot 4: Sound Card
    Slot 5: GTX 670
    Slot 6: Covered by 670
    Slot 7: Unused (I would not put the Quad NIC in here as this slot shares bandwidth with slot 2 and slot 5)

    My main concern is that inserting a Sound Card in slot 4 might force slot 1 to work at 1x mode, which is not enough bandwidth for a Quad Gigabit NIC.

    Hopefully someone who has this board can chime in with how the PCIE slots share bandwidth amongst eachother.

    EDIT: I just realized I didn't specify WHICH board I wanted to upgrade to in the OP. Oops.
    Last edited by SeeThruHead; 12-24-2012 at 05:55 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •