Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Backup & Restore and Cloning software

    I have been using for quite some time now Acronis backup software and was recently told by a Tech at Asus that specific software was know to create a lot of boot/OS reliability issues because it creates this 100 MB sector on the boot drive that can sometimes float and cause boot failures. First, this is the first time I have ever heard of such a thing and must admit do not have enough hardware savvy to argue for or against. Secondly, with other systems I have built, I have never run into boot issues after cloning until I upgraded to the Crosshair. Any thoughts on this from some of you more advanced and experienced users? I would very much appreciate your inputs.

    CPU: AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz
    MB: ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z (CPU: AM3+ Chipset AMD 990FX/SB950)
    Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)
    Hard Drives: Seagate 7200 RPM 500 Barracuda plus 4 other data drives
    Video Card: EVGA GeForce GT 640 2048MB GDDR3 Dual DVI, mHDMI Graphics Card 02G-P4-2643-KR
    Case: Antec Sonata IV - ATX Mid Tower Case
    CPU Cooleer: Antec Kuhler H2O 620 Liquid CPU Cooler System
    Pixelman



    CPU: AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz
    MB: ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z (CPU: AM3+ Chipset AMD 990FX/SB950)
    Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)
    Hard Drives: Seagate 7200 RPM 500 Barracuda plus 4 other data drives
    Video Card: EVGA GeForce GT 640 2048MB GDDR3 Dual DVI, mHDMI Graphics Card 02G-P4-2643-KR
    Case: Antec Sonata IV - ATX Mid Tower Case
    CPU Cooleer: Antec Kuhler H2O 620 Liquid CPU Cooler System

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    I think....
    You can help to contact the software vendor check about this, or query him have any new version to upgrade for test!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Like Sukara@asus suggest contact the software vendor. I have had a few issues with Acronis and to me it just seems the more features they add the more compatability problems people are having.
    I now use Macrium reflect. http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx
    I have had zero issues with Macrium. Plus its free. Free version has everything you will need.
    Wasn't long before I bought the full version to support the author.
    I can clone from a Raid 0 back to single SSD to a HDD or external USB / ESATA with ease. Its fast. I can store the .img of my system on my NAS and do a complete backup / restore within a few minutes.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array oldbrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    240

    The Acronis doesn't create that 100Mb partition, it's the Microsoft OS that does that, it started with Win 7. Most people don't even realize that is being created when they load the OS. If you pay attention when loading the OS then you can stop it from creating that partition . That 100Mb partition contains the boot record and if you just try and delete it then your OS won't boot into Win. The best way to get rid of that partition is to delete it then reboot and put the OS disk in and do a repair, that will create a new boot record on the remaining partition !
    Last edited by oldbrave; 12-26-2012 at 01:11 AM.
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my TechnoTeepee
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.5 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    232

    i use casper for cloning .. never had a problem ..
    AMD FX 8350 5.1ghz 221x23
    CROSSHAIR V bios 1703
    g-skill sniper 1600@1800
    What does it matter now if men believe or no?
    What is to come will come. And soon you too will stand aside,
    To murmur in pity that my words were true
    (Cassandra, in Agamemnon by Aeschylus)

    to see the wizard one must look behind the curtain ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •