Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Cool What type of GPU should I get?

    What type of GPU would I need to run Crysis 3 and. planetside 2 on Ultra. I'm planning to get a GTX 670. Will that be enough?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    HI, Welcome to the forum, what the rest of your PC look like ?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array OtherSyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    7

    I have a 3570K unlocked 3.8GHz Core i5, 8GB RAM, and a little 1GB GeForce 650 TI (SuperSuperClocked by EVGA). This realatively budget-oriented setup plays Crysis 2 at Ultra everything at 1080p (at 50+ FPS).

    Crysis 3, as Crytek has repeatedly stated, is not only based on the same (or very similar) CryEngine (with some improvements, granted), but is supposedly optimized and oriented more towards running well on normal systems without melting peoples' processors and GPUs like the original Crysis was famous for doing. If my mid-range budget system can pound it out like this, your GeForce 670 combined with 8 or 16GB of RAM and a strong CPU should have no trouble with Crysis 3, if what I've been hearing is correct. Not too sure about Planetside 2; I haven't heard anything about that game.

    Just my 2 cents. Anyone else got experience here?

  4. #4
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Well we don't know what Crysis 3 will be require until Feb next year, and try here for PS2 performance gauge: http://forums.videocardz.com/topic/1...formance-test/

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    System requirements for Crysis 3 taken from Crytek's webpage. Maybe it'll help you with your decision.


    Minimum System Operating Requirements for PC:
    • Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8
    • DirectX 11 graphics card with 1Gb Video RAM
    • Dual core CPU
    • 2GB Memory (3GB on Vista)

    • Example 1 (Nvidia/Intel):
    • Nvidia GTS 450
    • Intel Core2 Duo 2.4 Ghz (E6600)

    • Example 2 (AMD):
    • AMD Radeon HD5770
    • AMD Athlon64 X2 2.7 Ghz (5200+)


    Recommended System Operating Requirements for PC:
    • Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8
    • DirectX 11 graphics card with 1GB Video RAM
    • Quad core GPU
    • 4GB Memory

    • Example 1 (Nvidia/Intel):
    • Nvidia GTX 560
    • Intel Core i5-750

    • Example 2 (AMD):
    • AMD Radeon HD5870
    • AMD Phenom II X4 805

    Hi-Performance PC Specifications:
    • Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8
    • Latest DirectX 11 graphics card
    • Latest quad core CPU
    • SLI / Crossfire configurations will run even better
    • 8GB Memory

    • Example 1 (Nvidia/Intel):
    • NVidia GTX 680
    • Intel Core i7-2600k

    • Example 2 (AMD):
    • AMD Radeon HD7970
    • AMD Bulldozer FX4150

    http://www.crysis.com/us/crysis-3/buy

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    My Specs

    My system will have an i5-3570K overclocked to 4.0 GHz, 8GB of Corsair Vengeance Memory, and I have decided to go ahead and go with the GTX 660 ti. The extra money is not necessary for my type of gaming. Though I want to play Crysis 3 and Planetside 2 on Ultra settings I'll only be running a monitor that supports 1080P. A GTX 670 is more geared for the 2560x1600 crowd. With my specs and with the help of a Samsung 250GB SSD I think they and Guild Wars 2 and Civilization 5 will run great! Thanks for the help though!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Quote Originally Posted by MarxistPC View Post
    A GTX 670 is more geared for the 2560x1600 crowd.
    at this resolution , I will say a 690 or 2 x 680 will be more geared , a 670 is under power.
    Last edited by Area 66; 12-24-2012 at 09:17 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •