Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Rampage III Extreme - Constant reboots, don't hold bios settings... unstable.

    Hi,

    I just got this board, friend of mine bought it to upgrade his system... it was used and professionally tested fully functional (yeah right!), was bought on Ebay and said it was a Repair, and sold as is... returns not accepted (this should have rang a bell to the buyer, but i guess it did not.

    Now, i am using everything at DEFAULT settings... no overclock at all anywhere... i do a load default settings on bios, set boot priority and that's it.... so like i said... default settings on bios 1502.

    Now, it posts... but it's reseting itself all the time... will lose Cmos settings, and over the top, when i am able to post the board, it can start/stop like 3-4 times before it posts.

    I tried 2 different CPU's in there... i7-930 and i7-940, which are perfectly working on 2 other systems... same result... so not the CPU for sure.
    I tried 2 different type of memory, at default settings (not even touching timings or XMP settings, as i want to at least try to get an OS on the system). Clearly, it detects the ram, works on default or XMP setting, but i let it at AUTO... so it uses most standard settings, and even with manual timings or auto timings i get same result...
    I tried 3 different power supplies... same result... and 3 different video cards, on all 4 slots... same result...

    Now i am running out of ideas... the only component that doesn't change in my test setups, is the motherboard itself... i am seriously thinking of sending it to Asus for an RMA...

    I am sure that a Rampage III Extreme should still be on warranty, but i dunno what's Asus policy on boards like that... i have no receipt or anything... the serial number is on the motherboard, so it can be tracked... is that all is needed for Asus to proceed with an RMA or is my friend out of luck with a defective board that can be used as a bookshelf decoration?
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Losing CMOS setting can be attributed to a CMOS battery failure. Uusually you'll also lose your correct time and date as well. Is he experiencing the second symptom?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Yeah, but will a failed battery will cause all sort of instability like i am getting with it? I can replace it no problem, it's a CR2032, pretty common battery.

    What if i replace the battery, and it still does the same thing?
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Ok, battery is indeed totaly dead... reads 0.63 volts on my multimeter... replacing the battery as we speak...
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Just replaced the battery, will report with result... i am sure date/time reset and bios losing settings problem will be gone... i doubt about instability... but who knows!

    Thanks... i will continue testing
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Yeah it can cause instability like failure to post, black screens out of nowhere, shutdowns by itself, etc. lol That is one dead battery. Not even half of the 3V.

    Keep me updated.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Well, changed it with a 3.01v CR2032 battery... tested it to 3.01v, so it's a good battery...

    I can see that time/date are not reset anymore... and that i don't lose bios settings...

    Now, i still experienced instability, but i might have found the cause... i tried with ONLY one Dimm of memory (4gb) and i managed to install windows without a glitch.....

    Now, i will continue testing, might be one of the dimm slots... the ram, i know it works perfectly, but this ram i am using now is a quad channel kit, with one less stick designed for X79... still have to get my friends old PC to get his memory in this one...

    In the meantime, i will continue testing with only one stick of ram... i hope it's just incompatibility with ram rather than defective motherboard...

    Will see...
    Last edited by Rassal; 12-22-2012 at 04:41 AM.
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Really sounds like i nailed the problem...

    Incompatible ram... now running stable, no resets, no reboots... running windows 8 will all drivers installed... seems very stable... running prime95 now... so far so good... 57 celcius with prime95 on air cooler (CMH212plus)
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    If you battery less than 1.5v,will be cause not normal to save bios coms setting..

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Well, the board is working at 110% now... the problem was:

    1- Dead motherboard battery... instead of 3v it was reading 0.065v... so i replaced it with a brand new one.
    2- I taught it was incompatible RAM at 1st... but its seems that i had an about to fail raid array... one of my 4 Vertex 2 ssd failed, and it cause the array to crash... but before it failed, it was a nightmare of problems... reboots, random lockups... etc... it all sounded like it was a power supply problem, but since with another power supply i had the same problems i took the PSU out of the equation.

    Ever since i removed the defective SSD and rebuilded they array from a backup, everything works like perfect.
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •