Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    64gb DDR3 1333 RAM in a G74sx?

    Looking to upgrade my RAM in my G74sx. I have had 16gb from the beginning that I replaced before even firing it up for the first time. I would have bought 4x8gb but I was under the impression that it would only be able to use 16gb.

    I have read a few threads here:

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...G74sx-32gb-ram

    and

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...B-Memory-DIMMs

    So I know that 32gb is possible, but now there are 16gb 1333 RAM available. If I bought 4 of them, would I be able to run 64gb? Please do not respond with "You don't need that much, what do you do?" or "$ better spent on SSD!" I already have SSD. Here is what I am looking at:

    http://goo.gl/0ZONR

    Does anyone know of a better place to buy from or any better deals? Any other problems I may face?

    Thanks for your time, Happy Holidays!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    i sugest you follow ASUS spec on the website, because you add more RAM, the temp will be high, it have stability and compatibility problem.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I didn't want to bump the other threads because they were so old, but has anyone running 32gb ever reported having any problems? What are some good mods to keeping a G74 cooler, any additional fan upgrades or anything?

    Also this computer is not overclocked at all or anything and I would be staying true to 1333mhz

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    Not recommended,that is over spec~
    maybe cause the system unstable or can't boot...
    SO,PLease Consider!!!

  5. #5
    ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎ Array Gorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    90
    Posts
    627

    So buddy are you going to tell us what you would use all this RAM for?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Well basically I need more RAM and I must have it laptop portable. I fly 4+ times a month and take my G74sx carry-on each time, I cannot bring a desktop and I really do not want to shell out a ton more $$$ just for a new laptop for more RAM. Like I stated in the OP I have researched a few guys that have bumped up to 32gb, and this member in particular claims it works wonderful he hasn't had any problems at all and it is the best upgrade he has ever done.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...196#post187196

    Now that 16gb 1333 sticks are readily available I was wondering why I wouldn't be able to go to 64gb is 32gb is working perfectly for other members?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    @VanillaGodzilla, those are registered ECC server (desktop-size) chips, they won't fit in your laptop. When 16 GB laptop memory modules appear, the key issue is to consider that more RAM = more load on IMC = more heat. It may or may not be able to handle the load.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Thanks for the prompt responses guys! One last thing before this topic dies; should I update the BIOS when I add the other 16gb to the 16gb I have now (4 x 8gb total)? Any other precautions or tweaks I should do to the laptop when running 32gb? Right now it is just as it came out of the box from Asus.

    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaGodzilla View Post
    Well basically I need more RAM and I must have it laptop portable. I fly 4+ times a month and take my G74sx carry-on each time, I cannot bring a desktop and I really do not want to shell out a ton more $$$ just for a new laptop for more RAM. Like I stated in the OP I have researched a few guys that have bumped up to 32gb, and this member in particular claims it works wonderful he hasn't had any problems at all and it is the best upgrade he has ever done.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...196#post187196

    Now that 16gb 1333 sticks are readily available I was wondering why I wouldn't be able to go to 64gb is 32gb is working perfectly for other members?
    If they existed I would certainly put in 4x16GB SODIMMs into my G74 to try for 64GB. However, they don't yet appear on the market (only the desktop sticks you identified) and when/if they do I kind of doubt the 2nd Gen Sandy bridge IMCs will be happy to address this much memory without spitting up. I had good reason to go for 32GB in my G74, as I read the IMCs are the same on all such mobile chips in the 2nd Gen line, and intel reported that their higher end ones supported 32GB. The sam with 64GB is not true of even the 3rd gen chips.

    What do you use your G74 for that you could use 64B of RAM? Or were you after a large RAM disk?
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by VanillaGodzilla View Post
    Thanks for the prompt responses guys! One last thing before this topic dies; should I update the BIOS when I add the other 16gb to the 16gb I have now (4 x 8gb total)? Any other precautions or tweaks I should do to the laptop when running 32gb? Right now it is just as it came out of the box from Asus.

    Thanks again.
    I'd advise against it. I didn't update the BIOS on my machine before inserting extra RAM, and it worked fine. Update if you wish, but use EasyFlash in the BIOS rather than WinFlash from Windows. Too many people destroyed their computers with bad BIOS flashes on WinFlash.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •