Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    111

    Quote Originally Posted by dcisive View Post
    I should have left well enough alone. The Microsoft driver worked just fine. Now I'm hosed. I get an error trying to run the driver setup at the end of the process. I'll have to work on this, but frankly the new driver idea seems to suck for my purposes on mine.
    The driver along with the equalizer guide works perfectly

    you dont know how to install a driver even. so sad. you should not even be here bro just use ur laptop as it came and enjoy the suckiness of the default microsoft driver

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array siddique305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    82

    Ahh.. Thanks Man!

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    Quote Originally Posted by Fire View Post
    The driver along with the equalizer guide works perfectly

    you dont know how to install a driver even. so sad. you should not even be here bro just use ur laptop as it came and enjoy the suckiness of the default microsoft driver
    C'mon, where is the Christmas spirit? It's not his fault, lots of people in here had a hard time with these drivers.

    Well this driver does nothing really and that EQ setting with that 1k so high gets on my nervs since the one speaker able to output high volume at that freq is the so-called sub and that is the last thing I want. I do not use Winamp (I've stopped using it years ago) as I do not see the point of fixing one EQ with another. But I guess people even when it comes to sound, have different cultures.

    Man, if you could hear these Asus speakers alongside Skull candy, you might understand. And those SK are not the best around. The JBLs are amazing as well, much better than SK.

  4. #24
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Yeah you can keep that attitude dude. I've done tech support for a lot of folks in my day. I went back and ran SystemCare removing any potential junk, cleaning the registry and rebooted. Tried it again and this time noted that in the programs running in Task Manager (Windows 8) the audio program was still runnning which was causing the error trying to load the new one so stopped it. That did the trick and allowed me to run the setup just fine. Then as mentioned I ran the batch file (however run as administrator was not given as an option). It all loaded fine and I got my audio control window back. Personally I didn't care for the suggested audio settings. 2nd it made virtually NO difference in actual sound quality (yeah I happen to be both a musician and audiophile as well). I don't find the speakers horrid, just not exactly hi-fi. I back out the sub woofer output to 30 and then at least I get a bit of the right speaker's output noted more accurately with enough bass (if you want to call it that) out of the little sub. Honestly if it had been possible, if they put that sub in a CENTRAL case location the issue would have been moot as a sub is supposed to be approximately mid point of the arrangement of the other 2 speakers in a 2.1 arrangement. At least it would have given a centralized sound instead of mostly left side. Oh well, it's a laptop afterall. I'll live with it. Needless to say when I listen on my Sony pro headphones or my Shure ear buds the sound is quite audiophile quality.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,152

    Quote Originally Posted by finalhour View Post
    What's the verdict..? Is this good or not? DeltaActual (above) seems to say it sucks.... so I'm wondering:

    Does it scale the subwoofer?

    Does not scale the subwoofer you still have to manualy set it.

    Does the subwoofer stay muted with headphones in (or are there the issues that were present in other iterations of the VIA driver with it booming forth when it was not supposed to..)?
    On mine the subwoofer does not play with external or headset in use. The it hasn't since the 600 drives.

    I really don't hear any difference from the 900 drivers, there may be some backgrond stuff gong on that I don't hear or see??? Nothing detectable different for me.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    99

    I think the safest thing to do is go to the VIA website and download the latest driver for your OS 32 bit or 64 bit Windows Vista, 7 or 8.

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array AzraelsKiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    58

    This driver worked fairly well under Win8, but the subwoofer wasn't scaling properly with the volume control, so I went back to v6.0.10.1200a. The EQ settings work out really well under both sets of drivers.
    ~Azrael's Kiss~

    Buildin' my post count one post at a time...

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •