Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Sorry for posting in a old thread, but I still have problem with my ram and after a lot of test with my ram, clean drivers install and everything, I looked in bios ram settings and disabled the dimm B1 and B2 and I was able to run games without a crash with 8 GB, also tested disabling dimm A1 and A2 and enabling dimm B1 and B2 and worked, but doesn't work If I enable the 4 dimm or 3. any suggestions?
    Also, I ran memtest with all the 16 GB in default and xmp profile 1, the same with all the 4 sticks 1 by 1 in the 4 dimm and no errors.

  2. #12
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    Quote Originally Posted by dark_hollow View Post
    ...

    Well I mean with quad channel 4 sticks of 4GB each one, sorry if isnt the way to say it, I´m new in these things.

    ...
    I´m not too much of a wizard myself, especially on RAM, so I thought there was something I´d missed.

    Sorry to hear you still have problems. I think it´s time to look away from the memory sticks, you seem to have done everything you could, and have found nothing.

    Now, could it be a faulty CPU perhaps? Or can a slightly bent pin in the socket produce an error like that? Hope one of the gurus here can take it further.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by TenBlade View Post
    I´m not too much of a wizard myself, especially on RAM, so I thought there was something I´d missed.

    Sorry to hear you still have problems. I think it´s time to look away from the memory sticks, you seem to have done everything you could, and have found nothing.

    Now, could it be a faulty CPU perhaps? Or can a slightly bent pin in the socket produce an error like that? Hope one of the gurus here can take it further.
    Yes memory controller of IB are very sensitive to socket pins. i had an incidents on one of my ASRock Z77 Extreme 6 mobo where in 2 bent pins in socket caused two DIMM slots to stop working.
    But if even a single pin is bent you would be able to visually identify it. Try posting a pic here of your mobos socket.
    CPU + Mobo :: Core i5 3570K + Asus Maximus V Formula
    CPU Cooler :: Corsair H80
    GFX :: Asus HD7950 Direct CUII + Sapphire HD7950 Dual-X
    RAM :: GSkill TridentX 2400 CL10 16GB
    Storage :: Corsair SSD - 60GB + Seagate Baracuda - 1TB
    PSU :: Corsair AX 850
    Cabinet :: Silverstone Raven RV03
    Keyboard + Mouse :: Logitech G110 + Razer DeathAdder
    Audio :: JBL Creature III + Razer Megalodon 7.1
    Display :: AOC e2352Phz

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Well, I will try to take a pic and post it later tomorrow in the morning.

  5. #15
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by dark_hollow View Post
    Well, I will try to take a pic and post it later tomorrow in the morning.
    Check the socket - although that should not be the problem if individual memory modules work in each slot. After that, let me know which UEFI version you are using. If that checks out we'll move on to the next step.

    -Raja

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Here is a picture of my mobo socket, I don't know if is normal, but I see like 2 pins are moved (the ones of the middle left)

    Take a look and tell me if I'm wrong.

    Also, My UEFI version is 1501.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 02012013260.jpg  


  7. #17
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Those look okay to me.


    Can you upload images of UEFI for me here please? I need screen captures of all the DRAM timing pages. You can save them to a FAT formatted flash drive by pressing F12 in UEFI, then convert them to JPEG in the OS and upload them.

    -Raja

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Hello and Happy New Year to all of you.
    Hello Dark and to all members.
    It seems that the error is caused by the nVidia Driver. As also suggested by the MOD HiVizMan
    I would try not to use any beta (ß) but obviously safe driver and WHQL.
    At the moment it seems that the error extends to the OS (Operating System).
    good day and good luck
    ASUS Maximus V Extreme bios.v1604 | Intel i7-3770-LGA1155 (at3.9Ghz) | FanCPU-CoolerMaster Gemini II.SF524 | G.Skill Ripjanew.4*4 F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH (2133Mhz) | Video Asus GTX660TI | Corsair AX1200Gold | Case iTek King-580 | SSD SAMSUMG 128GB 830Series SATA 6gb/s | HDD 2x 1TB SATA6 Seagate 7200' + 3x 500GB Seagate- + 1 x 260 gb Sata3-Seagate| OS: Win7 Ultimate SP1 64b. {Index Performance 7.9} Update.22/05/13

  9. #19
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Easy check for him would be to use an older or newer display driver and see if it still happens.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Thanks for the reply and also happy new year to everyone
    From yesterday I let Prime95 "burning" for 12+ hours with CPU 4.2Ghz Vcore 1.280 at 58C - 60C (record temp from AI Suite) and RAM 1866Mhz 1.65v and the text file just says "passed" in all the test, so I`m starting to think in a graphic issue too.

    I´ll upload the screenshots of DRAM later then.
    My Nvidia drivers are whql 310.70, I also used 306.97 before and same thing.

    edit: here are the screenshots
    also, I´m updating drivers from MVE page.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 130103084321.jpg  

    130103084354.jpg  

    130103084415.jpg  

    130103084427.jpg  

    Last edited by dark_hollow; 01-03-2013 at 03:43 PM.
    Chassis: HAF X Nvidia Edition
    PSU: Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200w
    CPU: Intel 3770k 4.2Ghz Vcore 1.104
    RAM: 16GB GSkill Trident X 1866Mhz 1.5v (2400Mhz 1.65v)
    Mobo: Asus Maximus V Extreme
    GPU: Asus Gtx670 DirectCU
    SSD: Corsair GT Force 240GB
    Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
    Cooling: H100 Sandwich (4 Scythe Gentle Typhoon) Mx-4 Thermal Compound

    http://valid.canardpc.com/2656704


Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •