Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    How to prevent default installations on C-drive?

    Certain programs do not give you the option for custom installation, forcing them onto C-drive, hence C-drive space shrinking. And SSD's don't have an abundance of space, not in my budget.

    So, is there a way to override such an installation on C, to have only elements essential to OS on C?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    I have the same question!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    It's pretty easy to change the default installation path via the registry.

    1. Launch Registry Editor.
    2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion
    3. You'll see a value named ProgramFilesDir.
    4. Double click it and change it to the location you want.

    Note: For 64 bit users, you'll see ProgramFilesDir and ProgramFilesDir x86. Change both of them.

  4. #4
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    Thanks, Chino! repped!

    Adding this to "must do" list for new installation.

  5. #5
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    You can do as Chino suggested, or you can go the much easier route - provided the software allows it, is do a "custom" install, which should allow you to pick where you want your software installed...I have yet to find any software that doesn't let me choose where I install my crap lol

  6. #6
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    That´s just the thing, Myk, some programs don´t present me with the custom option.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Quote Originally Posted by TenBlade View Post
    That´s just the thing, Myk, some programs don´t present me with the custom option.
    from my experience, you should avoid those programs

  8. #8
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    I´ll try to filter what I can on my next rig, but with the relatively easy fix provided by Chino, I hope I won´t have to leave out any "must-haves". I don´t suppose the registry tweak presents any danger to my system (stability issues, programs won´t work etc.)?!

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    It's pretty easy to change the default installation path via the registry.

    1. Launch Registry Editor.
    2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion
    3. You'll see a value named ProgramFilesDir.
    4. Double click it and change it to the location you want.

    Note: For 64 bit users, you'll see ProgramFilesDir and ProgramFilesDir x86. Change both of them.


    Tks!! So easy and so useful. As everything should be!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    27

    If they do install on C: you can do this to move them *banned website*

    Also if like me you like to keep the SSD with as little installs. I use steam mover to push on and off the SSD to the HDD. http://www.traynier.com/software/steammover
    This also works for other programs and super easy to use
    Last edited by xeromist; 02-13-2013 at 11:05 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •