Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    G75VW - Unable to get Windows 8 Back on it- Help Appreciated

    Hey everybody. I will try to keep this as short and to the point as possible.

    I got the G75VW from Best Buy with Windows 8 installed. I decided to put my 120GB SSD in here, so I made a full backup of the laptop using Window's system image backup. I chose to go with Windows 7 but decided to go back to 8, but now I can't seem to. Trying to use the backup Images I made results in an error that says it's damaged or corrupt, trying to mount the backup vhdx file as a virtual drive also results in an error saying the file is damaged or corrupt, and trying to use my neighbor's full Windows 8 Pro 64-bit disk to do a clean install results in an error saying the product key supplied does not match the image being used to install windows.

    I've tried calling ASUS support multiple times, all without any help. I would either be put on hold for 20 minutes to which I would hang up or I would be told I could use a Windows 8 disk which doesn't work.

    So now I'm at a loss. How in the world am I supposed to get Windows 8 back on this machine without a product key or actual disk? Although I love this laptop I'm getting a bit frustrated and want to return it for a different brand.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    if you haven't done anything on your stock drive (i hope you didn't), try follow this by DRAKON.

    the full system image will not work because of the size of your ssd; and the product key is for w8, not w8 pro. so if you have w8 install disc, you probably have installed a fresh copy successfully.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Well the stock drive was completely wiped to used for my programs on W7, so that's a no go. But I have been trying a W8 pro disk which might be the problem. Just to clarify, this $1250 laptop came with W8 standard, not pro? Although I'm guessing there's not a lot of crucial features missing besides remote desktop. So I should be able to use a standard W8 disk (not pro) to do a fresh install without really any issue?

    Thanks for the reply!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    yes, for your clarification, this $1250 laptop comes with w8 standard, no pro; it's the same as the $2,599.99 msi gt70, the price tag is high but only manage to provide a w8 :/ sad, right?

    now back to the topic: correct, you should be fine if you had a w8 disk

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Well the good news is that a standard Windows 8 disk allows a clean install. Just disappointing it only has standard since this laptop is also used for IT work. Thanks for clarifying about it being standard. I think that the $1,000,000 question though is if I buy the upgrade to pro, am I gonna have issues in the future doing a fresh Pro install?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    w8 is the default OS that comes with the default SKUs (previous models come with w7 home premium).

    if you really need w8 pro, just get it from upgrade. when you do that, you should also be able to download a copy of w8 pro ISO file; and the product key is sent to you via email.

    i have done a few times of fresh install (w8 pro); it's painless

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    w8 is the default OS that comes with the default SKUs (previous models come with w7 home premium).

    if you really need w8 pro, just get it from upgrade. when you do that, you should also be able to download a copy of w8 pro ISO file; and the product key is sent to you via email.

    i have done a few times of fresh install (w8 pro); it's painless
    You were able to fresh install W8 Pro without it throwing the product key mismatch error? Odd, cause it wouldn't even let me get to the agreement when I tried to boot from a W8 Pro disc.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    uh? i bought mine; retail :/

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    uh? i bought mine; retail :/
    Mine has W8 standard by default in my laptop, which means the product key is baked in the bios. When I try to put in a copy of windows 8 other than standard to do a fresh install, it tells me there is a product key that doesn't match the image being used to install windows. That's why I'm wondering that if I upgrade from standard to pro I might not be able to do a clean install with it.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    ok; that makes sense because you did not supply the right key; there will be no problem as long as you have the valid product key

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •