Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Debug code OC

  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    The 3970X is supported since BIOS 2105. So, guys, please make sure you have at least this version.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    88
    Posts
    1,466

    How are they supposed to find that out, when they can't POST?
    That was a very good point though. Perhaps the BIOS update WO/CPU instructions is in order?
    If that is in fact the prob, then they also haven't had the CAP conversion, and can't use 2xxx nor 3xxx BIOSes. They need 1404.
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA2011/Rampage_IV_Extreme/Rampage-IV-Extreme-ASUS-1404.zip

    And the instructions are at 3.10.5 in the owner's manual. Of course it won't work at all if they have had the CAP conversion? (If they had the CAP conversion then their CPUs are also supported)
    Last edited by HalloweenWeed; 01-06-2013 at 04:35 AM.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Baalberith_NL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    98

    BIOS updates can be done by using a USB stick, see one of the stickys concerning that,
    it will also work without a CPU even.
    If the motherboard came out of the box, it will probably be at a pre 2105 version.
    Last edited by Baalberith_NL; 01-06-2013 at 04:30 AM.
    Intel Core i7 3960X
    Asus Rampage 4 Extreme
    32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 Reds
    Corsair H80
    Corsair AX1200
    2 x M4 Crucial 128GB
    3 x 2TB WD Black
    2 x Asus GTX TITAN
    CoolerMaster HAF-X
    Dell U3011

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by HalloweenWeed View Post
    How are they supposed to find that out, when they can't POST?
    You're right. My bad. I knew I was forgetting something in my post lol.

    I'm not sure where the sticker is located on the RIVE. But there is a long white sticker on your motherboard. Look for the last 4 numbers on it. That's the BIOS version that came with your board.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    88
    Posts
    1,466

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    I'm not sure where the sticker is located on the RIVE. But there is a long white sticker on your motherboard. Look for the last 4 numbers on it. That's the BIOS version that came with your board.
    Right you are, I just checked my careful notes, and:
    mobo edge, under SATA_6G_E2 (bottom (left) of SATA connectors):
    O O O xxxxxxxx-xxxxxxx-xxxxxx-xxx 0604

    0604 was my shipped version.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    With me, I have the 3930k so I don't think it's a bios issue

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    88
    Posts
    1,466

    Quote Originally Posted by HarryM View Post
    With me, I have the 3930k so I don't think it's a bios issue
    Agreed. Unfortunately, the only things I can think of for you is RMA the mobo/CPU. Without trying in another system there is just no way to tell which.

    BTW FYI sucessfully POSTing results in attempt to start the OS, reading the disk(s) - or entering BIOS setup. If you don't reach that point, with a sucessful POST code, then you cannot POST. FYI.
    Last edited by HalloweenWeed; 01-06-2013 at 05:06 PM.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  8. #28
    New ROGer Array 8eofilos PC Specs
    8eofilos PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix X570-E Gaming
    ProcessorAMD 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill Ripjaws RGB 64GB 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 1050 Ti 4GB OC Windforge
    Sound CardFocusrite 2i2
    MonitorASUS VA325H
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 NVM2 1 TB 970 EVO Plus
    Storage #22 X SSD 850 EVO 500 GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseV71 Thermaltake
    Power SupplyThermaltake RGB 850 W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux Blue
    Mouse Talon Blue by Thermaltake
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH M40x
    Mouse Pad Inland RGB Gaming Mouspad
    Headset/Speakers Speakers Creative
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    0C code on motherboard

    My System is:
    Rog Strix X570 E Gaming
    CPU 3900X
    64 GB DDR4 3600 MHz GSkill Ripjaws RGB
    Samsung 1TB M.2 NVMe 970 EVO Plus
    Gigabyte 1080 Ti 4GB OC Winforge
    2 X 850EVO SSD 500 GB
    1 X Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    1 X Seagate Barracuda 4TB
    DVD R Atapi iHas124
    AIO H110i
    Power Supply Thermaltake RGB 850W

    I have overclocked the CPU to all cores at 4.3 GHz Stable and the voltage is set with offset to 1.288 in the BIOS. The Hardware info is giving me sometimes
    1.3 Volts. The Ram is running at 3600 MHz. The PC is working fine, but I see this 0C and do not know if it is a problem. The Motherboard is less than a month old as well as the RAM, CPU, M.2 NVMe and Power Supply. The SSD's and the SATA HDD Drives and the Graphics Card are from my old build. My temps never go above 70-71C when rendering. Idle it goes from High 20s to Mid 30s. Normal work is always under 60C. I have memtest-ed my RAM and Prime95 my CPU and everything is stable. I actually have tested it at 1.325V all core 4.4GHz and it worked fine and passed 8000 Points in Cinebench. But I was reading that the 3900X shouldn't run over 1.3 V all core because it will degrade it, even though my Temps never passed 78C on heavy workloads, so I backed it down to the 4.3GHz and I am pretty happy about the stability of the system while running all this programs at once.
    Should I worry, is there something I am missing?
    Thanks

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •