Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Exclamation Corsait Dominator platinum 1866 8gbx4 XMP not working

    Hi everyone.

    Having trouble getting XMP profile going for the corsair dom platinum 1866 8gbx4. I select XMP profile from AI Tuner in bios - but system doesn't even boot to bios, just keeps restarting.

    Tried inputting the XMP timings and voltages manually (setting AI Tuner to "Manual"), still no luck.
    Tried increasing DRam voltage to 1.6v, CPUVTT to 1.2v and VCCSA to 1.2v (under XMP it states CPUVCCSA as 1.2v).

    Also, the XMP profile timings are different to the stated tested timings on the ram sticker. XMP says 9-9-9-27-2t, sticker says 9-10-9-27-2t.

    Bios, drivers, and firmware are all up to date

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    If you try to installed 2pcs memory have the same probelm?
    What's model CPU are you using?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Please use the memtest86+ guide in my sig first. This will help us remove variables in the process of memory installation.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Thanks for the reply guys.

    I've tested each ram stick on the same slot with memtest86+ - 2 passes no errors (took sooo long..im exausted lol)

    Tried XMP profile with only 2 sticks (dual channel) in the slots as per RIVE user guide instructions. Still no boot to bios. Keeps restarting.

    NOTE:
    Tried setting manual timings with 9-10-9-27-2t (instead of 9-9-9-27-2t as stated in XMP profile) and it works.

    Noticed that XMP states tRRD as 8, but I can't input 8 manually in Dram timings menu (only goes up to 7).

    So, where to from here?

    CPU - 3970x
    cooler - havik 140
    case - phantom 820
    gpu - 590gtx
    psu - corsair ax1200
    sound - asus xonar d2x
    intel 520 ssd
    WD caviar black 2tb
    Asus 24x dvd writer
    mobo - RIVE
    Ram - 8gb x 4 Corsair dominator platinum 1866
    Last edited by kingsaadi; 01-07-2013 at 10:42 AM.

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    The issue was definitely the tRCD of 9. These newer modules need tRCD to be at 10 clocks at the stated operating frequency.

    As for tRRD, set that to 7 manually and also set tFAW to 40 clocks for now. Once you have a fully stable system we can work on tweaking that down a bit, if possible.

    -Raja

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Thanks Raja,

    I've set the timings you mentioned manually. Also set dram voltage at 1.5 (as XMP states)

    Should I set VCCSA as the XMP states? (1.2v) or leave it on auto?

    How should I go about checking if my system is fully stable?

    regards
    Last edited by kingsaadi; 01-08-2013 at 03:08 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    87
    Posts
    1,466

    I suggest VCCSA 1.2V (minimum). As far as checking your system stable, I just wrote this for that:
    Issues with unstable Raid configuration in windows 7 ultimate on Asus Rampage IV Ext - Post #47

    Don't know if you are willing to go that far with it though.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by kingsaadi View Post
    Thanks Raja,

    I've set the timings you mentioned manually. Also set dram voltage at 1.5 (as XMP states)

    Should I set VCCSA as the XMP states? (1.2v) or leave it on auto?

    How should I go about checking if my system is fully stable?

    regards

    You can start with 1.2V if you wish. Or start lower at 1.1V and run a variety of tests (gaming, memory, and CPU) in the OS to see if the system is stable. If it's not stable at 1.1V then try 1.12 and check again. Keep adding 0.02V until it is stable.

    XMP profiles contain voltages that are know to work with most processors - some CPUs are better than others, so it is possible to run a lower voltage than the XMP profile applies if the processor you have is capable.

    -Raja

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Thanks guys,

    will run memtest tonight.

    Ran 3d mark vantage. hottest CPU core gets up to 75 degrees C*. Ran wPrime, hottest CPU core is 73*C. Everything at stock except for the memory running at its stated 1866mhz speed. Noticed the Turbo boost - goes up to 4ghz. vcore at idle is around 0.86v and max is 1.34v.

    Is this temperature normal? using havik 140 cooler. used to have a QX9650 overclocked to 3.8ghz on air at 1.42v and it ran cooler than this.

    If I do OC it in the future what's the safe temperature limit for 24/7 operation on the 3970x?

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Well day to day use, in real applications you'd want an OC that does not result in temps over 70c in stuff you run often. This is to allow for variance in weather (ambient temps). The temp itself is not the killer, it's the current that causes the greater damage (of course there is a mutual relationship).

    -Raja

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •