Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 218
  1. #11
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    flashed 1604, it feels better, but still doesn't run right with AIDA64 sadly ... at daily 4.9GHz / 2400MHz memory, while stable under Cinebench & 3dmark11 with no WHEA warnings whatsoever, it simply restarted without any BSOD about an hour after idle when left alone.

    such things don't happen with 704 BIOS ... I am inclined to try Shamino's Beta022 BIOS and see if I get similar quirks with it, somehow I doubt I would see any problems ...

  2. #12
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Let me know how the stock speed tests go and what the AIDA guys find.

    -Raja

  3. #13
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    failed the same way as 4.9GHz wirth 2400 ram did, unexpected shutdown with inability to power up until psu gets cycled. wrote that before you replied

    haven't contacted aida64 crew, because I don't think this is *caused* by AIDA (it doesn't happen on 704 BIOS), I think it merely gets triggered by this monitoring software.

    BIOS 1604 at 4.9GHz with aida64 running, also didn't survive 1 hour of idle - system unexpectedly restarted without BSOD while I was in other room. exactly same happened on bios 1501 at 4.7GHz as tested earlier (no BSOD, just restart). again, 704 BIOS doesn't show such behavior.

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Let me know how the stock speed tests go and what the AIDA guys find.

    -Raja
    Quote Originally Posted by feniks View Post
    It did it again at stock 3770K clocks and 2x4GB ram running 1333MHz (9-9-9-24 @ 1.50V). In morning i found the computer shutdown and it was unresponsive to the power button until I cycled the psu (same behavior as at my daily 4.9GHz with ram running 2400MHz).

    Definitely there is some screw up in bios 1501. I guess those microcode updates do not work well for everybody ...

    I am going back to 704, it's the last MVE BIOS that worked perfectly fine for me on 5 different 3770K chips and does not have any trouble with aida64 monitoring in background.
    Last edited by feniks; 01-10-2013 at 06:53 AM.

  4. #14
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Try turning some of the sensors of AIDA off if you can and pinpoint which it is. AIDA usually only conflicts with sensors if there is another polling tool running (CPU-Z, CoreTemp, REalTEMP, GPUI-Z, Ai suite). As you have said you are not running Ai Suite, I am wondering where the polling error is coming from or if this is something else with AIDA entirely. In which case asking the AIDA guys to help out will be quicker than our side looking into it. On top of that, I have not seen any other reports of this, which makes it harder for me to make any kind of specialist request.

    As for the ucode updates, there's nothing we can do, the microcode is needed to add support for new CPUs. So you kinda get what you get OC wise.


    On a sidenote, try disabling Anti-Surge in UEFI as well. See if that is causing an issue with AIDA polling. Can;t think of what else would cause it other than some kind of bizarre instability. The AIDA guys can help pinpoint this kind of stuff fast. Of course, if you're happy on UEFI build 0704, then perhaps debugging this is not something you want to do.

    -Raja

  5. #15
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    you think that is it? seems it's just a mere polling error on all newer BIOSes since ROG Exchange was introduced then ... haven't checked 1309 & 1408 in that matter, but somethign tells me it would be exactly same...

    why it doesn't happen on BIOS 704? I checked it with RealTemp + EVGA Precision X + AIDA64, no problem on BIOS 704. dang.

    then on BIOS 1501 (and it appears it happens also on 1604) this happens only at long idle and never under load.

    I always run RealTemp and EVGA Precision X (3.0.4) in background since ever, so the only sensors polled commonly with AIDA64 would be GPU0 & GPU1 temps and CPU core temps (and CPU package temps). however again, not a problem with it on BIOS 704 which doesn't quite convince me this is the whole problem here or is it LOL! that would suck honestly ...

    so far I liked 1604 BIOS, because it allows me to run 5.0GHz daily with much lower offset (+0.275 & 75% LLC) than any other BIOS before (+0.305 & 75% LLC)... I guess I will have to refrain from using AIDA for longer periods of time then ... will ask them about it in their forums tomorrow, maybe they will have a clue on why or heard some reports from others. A pity that such a piece of software like AIDA64 kills it at idle without any kind of BSOD ...

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Mate I have no problems with Aida EE running and I didn't have with previous bioses so I'm not sure if it's just the bios problem. I use only stable versions of AIDA though and not beta if it's important.
    Last edited by Melkor; 01-10-2013 at 09:02 AM.

  7. #17
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Thanks for the feedback Melkor.

  8. #18
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkor View Post
    Mate I have no problems with Aida EE running and I didn't have with previous bioses so I'm not sure if it's just the bios problem. I use only stable versions of AIDA though and not beta if it's important.
    thanks for input man ... are you running the computer 24/7 on vcore offsets and AIDA64 2.70EE runs in background at all times?

    dang ... that is weird ... I can hardly believe that some software conflict (seems like AIDA64+BIOS revision combo) causes a near hardware failure on my system and not on yours ... sounds like I should probably start narrowing it down further ...

    one thing is for sure, there is no errors in file system on SSD (chkdsk /f returns no problems) and my win7 system integrity check (sfc /scannow) is 100% healthy too...

    I do have a bunch of apps running in background however ...

  9. #19
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkor View Post
    Mate I have no problems with Aida EE running and I didn't have with previous bioses so I'm not sure if it's just the bios problem. I use only stable versions of AIDA though and not beta if it's important.
    thanks for input man ... are you running the computer 24/7 on vcore offsets and AIDA64 2.70EE runs in background at all times?

    dang ... that is weird ... I can hardly believe that some software conflict (seems like AIDA64+BIOS revision combo) causes a near hardware failure on my system and not on yours ... sounds like I should probably start narrowing it down further ...

    one thing is for sure, there is no errors in file system on SSD (chkdsk /f returns no problems) and my win7 system integrity check (sfc /scannow) is 100% healthy too...

    I do have a bunch of apps running in background however ...

  10. #20
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    I am not sure you are going to listen to me but I'll offer my 2c one last time in this thread:

    If you have a spare HDD, perform a Windows install on it with AIDA. IF no crash at idle then you will know it is one of your app combos. If it were me this system would be at bone stock as well - I never trust stress tests or overclocks to debug a system properly (but that's just me, I suppose that happens when you know how things work on a more granular level).


    If the system still crashes and it revolves around idle - you have a couple of possible perpetrators. One is the CPU has deteriorated a bit so the the low end VCore is insufficient as loading modulates. There could also be a change in the microcode that affects the PCU and Offset mode voltage, to the extent where low end VID or load step VID is lower than the CPU needs. In this case the VID will need to be increased to counter. Simple debug for that as well would be to use manual VID set to what the CPU needs at full load and see if the machine still crashes when left alone.

    The other would be that there's a combination of something in the newer microcode that interferes with low power states on the DRAM kit you are running (I have known of this before). Was a certain IC type, but Intel patched it later. Your kit does not fall into that category so, doubt it's that (plus no other reports is a big indicator for me). You can debug some of this by toggling the C-States one by one and then seeing which one exacerbates the problem. I would even go down to one memory module. Lastly, I would not install any IRST drivers on this test system, they have certain tie-ins to C-states as well, and are known buggy with some SSDs.


    Such testing will take a few days, but given the variables, one needs to take as many out as possible to prevent pointing blame at the wrong thing.

    This will at least stop you from taking your daily Win 7 install apart looking for a needle. If none of the above helps, then one can start looking at hardware at a deeper level. If there are no crashes of course, then you can start filtering out those background apps on your "everyday" install.


    -Raja

Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •