Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 100
  1. #61
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by boofsterb View Post
    I use Slax distro on a old asus eee 701. I swear it's the smallest laptop i've ever owned. Slax works perfectly with the atom processor and 2GB ram that the little eee offers.
    I only have 8x the RAM and 7x the CPU in my laptop...lol

    @fostert, I will try booting the VM a little later and report back my findings. You say you want those commands executed on a fresh boot-up?

    Yes, it is KDE4, that's what this article says:
    http://www.slax.org/blog/19139-Slax-...ndidate-1.html
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  2. #62
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Wow, vi is hardcore! You're a true unix soldier....never picked up vi; they gave us a command sheet for vi on the first day in university, but thats gone now...today I only know how to open, edit and close a file in it...thats it!
    Last edited by fostert; 01-27-2013 at 07:49 PM.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  3. #63
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    I've used vim...trying to learn it better so that I can do more at the command line. All I know how to do is open, edit, save, close, and syntax highlight a file.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  4. #64
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    @fostert, here are the the results!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SlaxFostertReq.png 
Views:	6 
Size:	295.9 KB 
ID:	16417
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  5. #65
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Ah, OK...325 MB is really, really good considering you're running a substantial desktop manager like KDE. In fact thats about as lean as one can get on a stock kernel! Fantastic.

    Here is a screenshot of a shell running in TWM after a fresh clearing of the RAM cache:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	twm_topscreen.gif 
Views:	0 
Size:	9.1 KB 
ID:	16434

    241 MB: thats as low as I can get with TWM on my stock 3.2.0-2 kernel, but it isn't all that different from your value considering KDE is so much more well developed. I actually may go back to xfce or fluxbox tomorrow at work!
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  6. #66
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    That is pretty good. Now to try on my bare-metal machine and see how I can do! Competitive memory-freeing!

    Tried it, I get down to around 350 MB on the bare-metal with TWM.
    I get 1.2 GB on KDE.
    Last edited by Zygomorphic; 01-28-2013 at 01:58 AM.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  7. #67
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    99

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    I get 1.2 GB on KDE.
    Thats better than Vista.LOL

  8. #68
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    BTW, anyone here using linux with trim support of their SSD in a G-series lappy? My next upgrade is going to be an SSD, and I've never had experience with Linux and TRIM....
    i am a newer Linux user but I am running an SSD on both my g74sx and my desktop. I am using Linuxmint 14 on both. This distro has good support for all of my hardware except my desktop's asus xonar dx soundcard (weirdly).



    See if your SSD supports TRIM (most modern SSD's do, IME)
    for h in /dev/sd?; do if [ `sudo hdparm -I $h | grep TRIM | wc -l` != 0 ]; then sudo hdparm -I $h | egrep "/dev/|Model"; fi; done
    If this code results in your SSD being listed then it supposedly supports TRIM.


    To enable TRIM support (and some other SSD improvements) I edited /etc/fstab file with root or superuser access:

    added
    none /tmp tmpfs nodev,nosuid,mode=1777 0 0
    to save temp files in memory

    amended
    UUID=0c4de1f6-b77b-49d7-bccf-63c4268e8f43 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    such that
    errors=remount-ro
    becomes
    errors=remount-ro,noatime
    to disable writing to disk each time a file is read, or add discard to that for TRIM
    errors=remount-ro,noatime,discard
    NOTE that ext2 does not support the discard command, and I used ext2 for my boot partition but ext4 for my root and home partitions. I enabled discard for each ext4 partition, but noatime for all.

    There are lots of other little tweaks that can be done to purportedly improve the SSD experience on Linux, as well as lots of debate about them on the forums. Some people even recommend against TRIM(?!). The guide I followed is here:
    But many others exist:
    PS - at the end of my 1 year ASUS warranty and I just spilled tea on my g74sx. Result = stuck left mouse button. Frack.
    Last edited by quaid; 01-28-2013 at 11:00 AM.

  9. #69
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by boofsterb View Post
    Thats better than Vista.LOL
    Sadly, yes it is. I wonder what is using up that much RAM.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  10. #70
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    264

    I cannot get a 64-bit linux live version to boot. I tired the LiveLiinux USB and the 32-bit will boot but not 64-bit.

    Any suggestions? I would like to be able to store data and files so running off of a USB live installation would be prefered.

    ty

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •