cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with upgrading my laptop's RAM

Xehanort
Level 8
First of all, here's my laptop's specs just so if they're somehow needed (ASUS N53Jq):

. Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
. CPU: Intel i7 740QM (1.73GHz, Turbo2.93G, 6MB)
. Memory: 6GB
. Hard Drive: 640GB
. Screen: 15.6" LED 1366*768
. Chipset: Intel HM55
. Video: NVidia GT425M 1GB VRAM

So anyway, I wanted to upgrade my laptops RAM so it can handle heavy programs like Vegas Pro, Photoshop and CorelDRAW better than it does now since I have some heavy HD footage to edit. My fears come from the fact that i've never done this before in my life, so I wanna be aware of what i'm doing here before I completely screw my laptop up for good. My questions are:

. How do you install more RAM? I know it's a little "card" that you insert in a slot inside the laptop, but is inserting it enough or do you have to change the BIOS or install it manually or something?
. How do I know how much RAM my PC can handle? (EDIT: Already found out, thanks anyway)
. Is there anyway to know if the RAM is inserted well in the slot? I want to know this before I try it for the first time...
. Is it reccommended to make use of all slots, or the less slots used the better?
. Are RAM "cards" universal, or are some of them incompatible with certain computers/laptops?

Sorry for having such doubts, it's my first time doing this and I don't want to screw it up in any way. So this is what crucial.com had to say about my PC's RAM:

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/8775/crucialramscan.png

So should I go with their advice of 4GBx4 on all slots, or do you reccommend me any better setup?

Thank you for your time.
3 REPLIES 3

Chino
Level 15
. How do you install more RAM? I know it's a little "card" that you insert in a slot inside the laptop, but is inserting it enough or do you have to change the BIOS or install it manually or something?